Chocolate Decadence Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Made this cake for a gathering of old friends to celebrate a birthday. The birthday recipient is a serious chocaholic, so this seemed like the perfect choice. It was a hit with everyone, down to the last crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Took this to Passover Seder. I was told that this was so good, I could present it to God himself! I will be making this all year, not just at Passover. My eggs never got stiff still turned out perfect. Can't say enough about how awesome this was. Everyone wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Had it with some friends. They loved it! My girlfriend said it tasted like a truffle. I drizzled Boysenberry syrup on the plate before I put the cake on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This cake sure lives up to it's name. Very decadent! It is dense and so rich! Like a piece of chocolate heaven...a little piece goes a long way. As for the whipping cream called for in the recipe. It is meant to be whipped up as a topping when serving the cake. This was so easy to make for something so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
WOW, this is the best chocolate cake I have ever tasted, I helped make it for my moms birthday. What I found was baking two smaller cakes was better so you could put frosting in the middle later, they also bake quicker. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This cake ranks as one of the top 2 or 3 desserts I've ever had. It's that good. Super-rich, without being leaden, it has a nice slightly crunchy layer on top with a moist and chewy melt-in-your-mouth center. Use good chocolate and it will be even better. I followed the advice of someone who suggested separating the eggs and beating 1/2 of the egg sugar into the whites and yolks before combining them. I think that really helps the texture. The batter more than filled the 9.5" pie pan I had, so I put the rest in 3" ramekins for individual servings. I baked it all in a water bath at 350. The ramekins were done in about 40 min, the big cake took another 10 min. I baked until there was just a little sticking to a toothpick. Serve with fresh whipped cream (that ingredient does not get added to the batter...), and maybe a drizzle of homemade chocolate and/or raspberry sauce. Absolutely, ridiculously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This cake is awesome. Everyone raved when I served it at a seder. It is a bit difficult to remove from the pan (I've used a spring pan with some luck). Perhaps a silicone would work better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIN243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This cake did not work for me. It was extremely gooey on the bottom even though I cooked it a half hour longer than the recipe called for. It was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLEYMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Beware chocolate lovers! I can make you die and go to heaven with this recipe. The power is going to my head!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
EXCELLENT CHOCOHOLIC cake. I love this recipe and will make it often. Maybe I will serve it with a raspberry or strawberry coulis next time. However, it is absolutely fantastic on its own and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States