Chocolate Decadence Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Did anyone else add the cream to the batter? ARG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sutterpants

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Delicious! I took this to a large social event and ended up with none left. I didn't follow the directiosn fo cooking exactly and I don't knwo how much it mattered. I just ended up making the batter and cooking it for 45 minutes like you would a cake. I also whipped the eggs with an electric beater and I never refrigerated the baked product. I meant to originally but when I was making it, I was in a hurry and i forgot to reread the recipe. However, it was amazingly rich and fabulous tasting. I love the fact that it was actually fairly healthy. Eggs, butter, and dark chocolate, great examples of good fats, protein, and antioxidants. Definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Great recipe. Others were right that the batter can be a little too much,but maybe our pans our smaller. I just fit what I could and cooked it. I also cooked it for about 1 hr 20 minutes. It is a very gooey cake, but when you have a cake made with sugar, eggs, and chocolate with no flour-what do you expect? Because its so gooey and rich, it feeds many people! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I followed the directions exactly as written and this turned out wonderfully. The best passover desert I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I thought this was a great chocolate cake. Very rich, so serve slivers. I like to add raspberries for garnish and to offset the intense chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I made this recipe using a combiation of 75% and 65 % chocolate. IT WAS A CHOCOHOLICS best for a cake. I made it again using a muffin pan for indiviual servings. For this recipe, cut the baking time by 10 minutes. A keeper for sure. Ken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This cake is excellent! It is dark, very rich, and undoubtedly decadent. I made no changes to the recipe and would definitely make it again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Our church has a Seder each year and I took this as my dessert this year. It got rave reviews from the crowd, though it was mostly because it was like a pan of chocolate goo. I left it in as per the directions, and even cooked it in a slightly larger, square pan - and it still didn't completely set as a cake. I'm not sure if that's because I didn't beat the eggs long enough or if I needed to cook it longer, or if it's just supposed to be that consistency. It was kind of like the middle of a really fudgy, undercooked brownie - but the top had a crunch layer. Personally - I thought it was AWESOME, as I love undercooked brownies, cookies and raw doughs and batters. But if I were making it for a crowd again, I would cook a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This is a specialty I am now known for. So easy! SOOO good! UPDATE: I see a lot of people complaining about the egg not being thick. My eggs never get thick and it's OK! Some people separate and whip up the eggs; I find that that gives air to the cake that makes it less like decadence and more like a mousse. Decadence is a dense, rich concoction. You want to whip the eggs to make sure they are uniform (without distinguishable whites or yolks), and you want to fold them in so as to not incorporate more air than absolutely necessary. Also, for those of you who find there's too much -- you're probably using a 9" pan; this recipe calls for a 10" pan. In a 10" pan the batter never even reaches half way up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
As with another reviewer, I had too much batter for the pan....this was a disaster. It took WAY longer to cook than the recipe suggested, plus the center never cooked!!! This was horrible...I ended up throwing the entire thing away, pan and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States