Chocolate Decadence Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I've been making this cake for the past two years. I have a dozen recipes for flourless chocolate cakes and this is by far the easiest and the best tasting. I have found that lightly buttering the 10" cake pan and dusting it with granulated sugar is easier than using parchment. Also, if using extra large eggs, use only 6 instead of 7. I don't separate the eggs, but beating them for 5 to 7 minutes seems to produce a consistent end result. Don't skip the water bath - it makes a difference. My oven runs cold, so I bake this recipe for 55 minutes. Refrigerating the cake overnight and serving it cold is the best option. Don't forget a dollop of whipped cream. My family and friends love this chocolate wonder. It is considered my specialty even though I have shared the recipe. It is in demand for every celebratory occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This is a great recipe! I made it for mother's day for my mom and she loved it! For those who are having problems with the eggs, just get them as thick as you can. You don't have to separate them to do this but make sure you add the sugar slowly. It's not supposed to rise much and it should be thick and dense when its finished baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Thanks to LYNNERIE and her suggestions - it turned out exactly like she said it would. It truly is the most chocolatey chocolate cake ever. The only thing I would say is it isn't really a "cake" so much as it's a velvety fudgey 10? slab of yummy! Really rich though - so you don't need a very big piece. Goes great with raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This cake was unbelievingly rich. I love rich dark chocolate, but even this was almost too rich for me. It tastes a lot like dark chocolate truffles. I made it for Valentine's Day and froze several slices because we just couldn't eat it all. It's really good with raspberry sauce. It definitely cures any chocolate cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Felts Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Made this for a party yesterday and everyone LOVED it. It was so easy to make, and it came out beautifully, definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
it is so cool i sware it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockdale, Texas, USA
Living In: Huron, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
My first try making this recipe. I followed it exactly. I had to whip the eggs for 5-10 minutes with a stand mixer on high before they got thick. I used a 10" pan and filled it 1/2 full then filled a second 9" pan a little more than 1/2 full. Whipping the eggs adds volume so you can see why there are mixed results regarding the amount of batter. This may get 5 stars but it is still in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Perfect for any chocoholic! I was getting discouraged when folding in the eggs, but I kept at it, and it eventually worked in. You don't need to overbake as it is supposed to be fudgy. Keep leftovers cold and serve straight from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Bandita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mitchell, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Reviewed on Oct. 3, 2008 by Mike Sessler show less This cake ranks as one of the top 2 or 3 desserts I've ever had. It's that good. Super-rich, without being leaden, it has a nice slightly crunchy layer on top with a moist and chewy melt-in-your-mouth center. Use good chocolate and it will be even better. I followed the advice of someone who suggested separating the eggs and beating 1/2 of the egg sugar into the whites and yolks before combining them. I think that really helps the texture. The batter more than filled the 9.5" pie pan I had, so I put the rest in 3" ramekins for individual servings. I baked it all in a water bath at 350. The ramekins were done in about 40 min, the big cake took another 10 min. I baked until there was just a little sticking to a toothpick. Serve with fresh whipped cream (that ingredient does not get added to the batter...), and maybe a drizzle of homemade chocolate and/or raspberry sauce. Absolutely, ridiculously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Incredible flavour and our guests thought so too. It's texture is reminiscent of a dense chocolate torte. Various people were confused about the beating/whipping of the eggs. I've been learning to make Madeleines lately, so I beat the eggs like I would for them--for about 3-5 minutes until they triple in size and form a thick ribbon when the beaters are lifted. This worked well. But when I went to fold in the chocolate (the part I hadn't eaten!! YUM!!) it was tricky because it kept falling to the bottom of the bowl, so I finally took the beaters back and whipped them in which worked great. The batter is VERY runny, far more so than regular cake batter. More like a chocolate omlette. I halved this recipe and baked it in 2 small personal-sized springform pans and 2 small chef's rings (which have no bottom). The two pans I cooked in the water bath. With the chef's rings I had to 'seal' them to the sheet with a dough, therefore, I was not able to bake them in a bath of water. BAKE IN THE WATER BATH! The cakes baked in the water were beautiful in shape and texture. The two cakes not baked in the water bath came out like mushrooms! They tasted just as good, but the tops mushroomed up and the bottoms were hollow! Weird! BTW, I baked my little cakes for 30 minutes each and they were perfect. They taste even better today so next time I'll make the day before. I served with seived icing suger, cocoa, syrup on the plate and a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Showstopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States