Chocolate Date Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This is a wonderful cake. Try it reheated and topped with icecream for a real treat. I also add 2 Tbls. of dark rum to the liquid and dates, but allow the cake to sit a couple of days to ripen. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I love this recipe, it reminds me of my mom as she use to make this when my sister and I were growing up. She would always add way more chocolate chips! I only altered it slightly by using only 3/4 cups sugar in the cake and no sugar on top. Easy and good ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
this cake has great textures and with the dates and nuts is fairly good for you, too. The topping is crunchy, the middle is smooth and the bottom for mine was slightly chewy. It looks nice, too, without alot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is an amazing cake. It's not terribly pretty on the plate, but you can cover up a lot of imperfections with Cool Whip or vanilla ice cream. I'm lazy so I always buy the dates already chopped up. I view it as a somewhat healthy dessert because of the dates, but deep down I know better. It actually gets better over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Delicious! I made this cake recipe into muffins and they were great - moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I love this cake - the only adjustment my family makes is the topping which is 1/4 c flour, 1/4 sugar 1 tbs cinnamon and 2 tbs butter softened - mis till crumbly then put on top of cake then add chips and walnuts! Great for a party and if you feel adventurous you can make it in a bundt pan and just reverse the order of the layer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My family has been making this cake for about 50 years with rave reviews! My husband always made one to take to work for office parties and told everyone the recipe was a family secret. We never varied the recipe but the other suggestions of adding cinnamon or rum would be excellent! I'll definitely try the muffin version since most of the time it's just two of us and I can freeze the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Too much sugar for the topping, otherwise it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I really enjoyed. Followed recipe exactly. It was sweet, but I like sweet things. Tasted good both warm and room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Cake was certainly moist and a variation on standard chocolate cake but it didn't quite pack the flavour in for the calories it most likely has. Wouldn't recommend for a special occassion but good for lunchbox treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States