Chocolate Cut Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These are great FRESH. Easy recipe. Crumbly dough but that could be b/c it's July & not super cool in my house. I used another reviewer's advice & used powdered sugar on the dough to keep it from stickin to my rollin pin... GREAT TIP!! Definitely roll your dough on the thick side, otherwise these cookies get extremely crunchy after they're cooled. I used 11 Tbsp of the cocoa powder... DID NOT NEED THAT MUCH. Iced some of the cookies w/ a basic glaze. DID NOT NEED ICING. The icing made them too sweet! My kids & their friends definitely liked them better with NO ICING. These have been requested EVERY SINGLE NIGHT THIS WEEK since I first made them!! Luckily, I only bake enough to soothe everyone at one time, so I've had dough in the fridge all week!! Thanks for a great treat for my family & friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Braxton, Mississippi, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I was really weary of this recipe, because others had so many problems. With a few tweaks, this is great recipe for chocolate cut outs! I only used 2 eggs, added 2 T extra cocoa powder, and added 1/2 tsp salt. With any cut out recipe, you have to chill the dough properly in order to prevent stickiness. I used plain flour to roll them out, and it didn't affect the color or taste at all (instead of cocoa and sugar others suggested). I also decided to bake these at 375 for 7-8 minutes, like my other sugar cookie recipe. I loved the chocolate, tastes very close to a brownie type cookie. Will def keep as an alternate to regular sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe, but added 1 tsp. of salt. I chilled the dough over 3 hours. It was fairly sticky, but I used a lot of flour when rolling it out and I didn't roll the cookies too thin, so it wasn't a problem. They were done in about 9 mins. They tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ezmars
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I used carob instead of cocoa because I think it makes them "darker." I mixed in all 3 eggs but was generous with the flour and the carob/sugar mixture I used to roll them out on parchment paper. I also iced them with mint icing! Very easy, very tatsty, look great, taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezmars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
These were really good. Tasted like a brownie. I had no problem with the dough being sticky. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These were amazing! I made them for a Halloween Party and they were gone by the end of the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Loved these. Went with previous suggestions to go with 2 eggs, 11 tablespoons of cocoa powder and used a mix of predominantly powdered sugar and a bit of flour to roll them out. Definitely comes out best to get your rolled dough out to 1/4 inch high. That's the perfect height, though thinner cookies with their crisp were mighty fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
The dough was great! Easy to roll out between cling wrap! Other than cutting down the sugar to 1c, I followed the rest of the recipe and they turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
used 2 sticks butter & 1 extra tsp cocoa turned out fine, not sticky. only problem i had my cookies kept breaking. maybe i made them too thin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vannahsmiles
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I followed this recipe to the T. I had no problem at all with the dough consistency, everything was great. But honestly, they taste like cardboard. They're bearable with the icing but without it I don't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States