Chocolate Custard Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Really good bread pudding..... Don't be afraid of using the cinnamon and nutmeg. It adds to the flavor and doesn't overpower. I added 1/2 a tsp of almond extract as well. Moist, light chocolate flavor. I put my bread pudding into a small circular baking dish and then put that into a water bath to try and keep it moist while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
u dont add nutmeg to chocolate. i can barely tolerate the idea of cinnamon. but it my opinion. its a simple thing to do and it tasted good. i just left out the spice idea. and had fun cooking it with my fiance. oh and we didnt add nuts. didnt have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrinna Mace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quinton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made it in a round glass baking dish. Put it over vanilla ice cream topped with coffee syrup and whipped cream. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I was surprised this recipe has a 4 star rating. It tasted like some kind of odd and not good tasting french toast and not like a bread pudding nor does it have any sort of custard texture. My 6 & 7 year old would not even get past a 2nd bite and both said they didn't like it. That is a good indicator I'd say and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
i really enjoyed using this recipe as a base for a chocolate bread pudding. i used 1/3c semi sweet chocolate chips and only used 1/4c sugar in with the cinnamon and nutmeg. i didnt do the water bath either, instead i covered with foil and still came out great! i topped mine with a small scoop of ice cream and it tasted wonderful! this is has a great flavor and is for any chocolate lover out there!!! try it tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Very flavorful. Not too moist or too dry but I can't rate on that factor as I didn't use the waterbath or cooking bag (too much work). I just put it in a loaf pan with foil on top. I would make this again but still would not use the bath and would add a little more chocolate (love chocolate). Did not have the walnuts so used almonds -- very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I wouldn't make this again. Both my husband and I didn't care for the nutmeg in this -- I would have just preferred cinnamon. Also, simple bread pudding is much more delicate and tasty - and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I usually only seek out recipes with very good ratings and this one had no rating at all.... However I had so many left over bread cubes from another recipe that I was looking to use them up and I decided to take a chance and try this. It's pretty good although I think the recipe instructions are a bit poorly written in some parts. In the beginning, I wasn't sure if I was doing this right. In any case, this has a nice, chocolately flavor and is not too sweet (which I liked). It is definitely easy and was a good way to get rid of some leftover bread. I prefer it warm so I after it had baked and cooled, I just pop the portions in the microwave for a few seconds and it tastes very nice. All in all, this was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States