Chocolate Custard Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Really good bread pudding..... Don't be afraid of using the cinnamon and nutmeg. It adds to the flavor and doesn't overpower. I added 1/2 a tsp of almond extract as well. Moist, light chocolate flavor. I put my bread pudding into a small circular baking dish and then put that into a water bath to try and keep it moist while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
u dont add nutmeg to chocolate. i can barely tolerate the idea of cinnamon. but it my opinion. its a simple thing to do and it tasted good. i just left out the spice idea. and had fun cooking it with my fiance. oh and we didnt add nuts. didnt have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora Dahlstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quinton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made it in a round glass baking dish. Put it over vanilla ice cream topped with coffee syrup and whipped cream. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I was surprised this recipe has a 4 star rating. It tasted like some kind of odd and not good tasting french toast and not like a bread pudding nor does it have any sort of custard texture. My 6 & 7 year old would not even get past a 2nd bite and both said they didn't like it. That is a good indicator I'd say and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
i really enjoyed using this recipe as a base for a chocolate bread pudding. i used 1/3c semi sweet chocolate chips and only used 1/4c sugar in with the cinnamon and nutmeg. i didnt do the water bath either, instead i covered with foil and still came out great! i topped mine with a small scoop of ice cream and it tasted wonderful! this is has a great flavor and is for any chocolate lover out there!!! try it tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Very flavorful. Not too moist or too dry but I can't rate on that factor as I didn't use the waterbath or cooking bag (too much work). I just put it in a loaf pan with foil on top. I would make this again but still would not use the bath and would add a little more chocolate (love chocolate). Did not have the walnuts so used almonds -- very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I wouldn't make this again. Both my husband and I didn't care for the nutmeg in this -- I would have just preferred cinnamon. Also, simple bread pudding is much more delicate and tasty - and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I usually only seek out recipes with very good ratings and this one had no rating at all.... However I had so many left over bread cubes from another recipe that I was looking to use them up and I decided to take a chance and try this. It's pretty good although I think the recipe instructions are a bit poorly written in some parts. In the beginning, I wasn't sure if I was doing this right. In any case, this has a nice, chocolately flavor and is not too sweet (which I liked). It is definitely easy and was a good way to get rid of some leftover bread. I prefer it warm so I after it had baked and cooled, I just pop the portions in the microwave for a few seconds and it tastes very nice. All in all, this was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States