Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I made this recipe and it was yummy. However, I suggest that you only fill the muffin cups 2/3 of the way, instead of 3/4 because they end up looking like muffins (way too high), rather than cupcakes. I will also probably lessen the milk a bit the next time, because it came out too soft and was disintegrating people were eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
918 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
Very easy and tasty (with and without icing). I found that it will make 30 cupcakes (don't fill each cup as full as stated, closer to 1/2). They will be the perfect size for icing. If you aren't planning on icing them you could make 24 cupcakes. I made these with the help of a 3 yr old and a 1 yr old. They both love them! I did need to bake them a bit longer (about 10 min) but our oven usually needs a bit longer so others might not not need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
705 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
These cupcakes are pretty good, but nothing exceptional. Also, the instructions are misleading; they say to cream 3 Tbsp. of butter with 1 1/2 cups of sugar. It's virtually impossible to cream such a small amount of butter with 8 times the amount of sugar! The butter will never get creamy, but will stay overly grainy and sugary from all that sugar. A much better and simpler way is to melt the butter and add it to the wet ingredients, and then add the sugar to the dry ingredients. The best part about these cupcakes is they are lowfat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
636 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
WOW! These were awesome! They are very cake-like and soft, and are amazing without any icing. I filled the muffin cups about halfway and they rose right to the top of the cups and made 15(I halved the recipe).. there really wasn't a size problem for me. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Ok, the recipes says it makes 16 cupcakes. I made 18 and had TONS of batter left over. Not only that, but even with the cups half full (large cups) they over flowed. And fell. And were that kind of too moist texture. Not well done at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
These turned out so good! I had some buttermilk to use up so I subbed that for the regular milk. I recommend it if you've got some on hand. I frosted with a rich semisweet/bittersweet chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
i love this recipie baked it quite a lot, my kids love it but i add only 1/2 a cup of cocoa or it seems a little to dry instead of moist for the kids but otherwise this recipie rocks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
pretty good. i added more cocoa and subbed applesauce for the butter, since i had none on hand. i frosted them with a chocolate/peppermint buttercream icing and they were gobbled up. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
These were quick and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly, and mine came out moist, with a good flavor. I decided that they didn't really need any frosting. I brought some to a friend to surprise him for his birthday. About half a dozen people tried them, and they were all impressed. Somebody asked whether I'd used a mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I thought this recipe was great! They were moist and fluffy, the perfect amount of flavour, and they're low in fat. What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States