Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These were some pretty good cupcakes! So after going through a lot of the reviews and deciding to make them, I also took the advice of some others and used 1/2 stick of butter instead of 3 tbsp. While I was beating the butter and sugar it was crumbly which I kinda freaked out about, but it was ok so don't worry. Also, minor adjustment but I filled each cup about halfway full and they were the perfect height, not spilling over like a muffin. They were a tiny bit dry, but it was probably my fault for not watching them close enough while they were baking. I made some vanilla frosting and sprinkled some crushed candy cane on top and they were the perfect Christmas treats! :) My only advice is watch them super closely becasue they will probably be done in less than 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This chocolate cupcake recipe IS moist and fluffy, if you follow it down to the T (AND if you do not "over-mix"). If you want it sweeter, I would suggest adding chocolate chips in the batter, or even a nice frosting. This is now in my favorite non-vegan choco-cupcake recipes thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made cupcakes for my daughter's birthday for her class, and the kids love it!. In the past I usually used a different recipe but most of the kids will eat only the frosting. But this time they finished the entire cupcake. I guess I am going to use this recipe from now on.. I agreed with most of the reviewers, fill the batter only 1/2 of the cup otherwise it will overflow. I did the cupcakes the night before and they were very moist next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena
Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I liked this recipe due to its simplicity however I have to disagree with the people saying use less milk. I used all of the milk and ended up adding more to the batter. My cakes were a little bit dry but still very good, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made a batch of these last night. I had to add extra sugar as I found the batter to be rather bitter still. In hindsight, I wish I had substituted melted semi-sweet bakers chocolate for the cocoa powder. I think it would have produced a smoother flavor. These taste quite good though, I used a cream cheese icing for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
My 12 year old daughter wants to start baking so we tried this one and it was very yummy. A little on the dry side but loved the crunchy outside and with frosting was perfect! She had fun making this recipe. Also instead of just creaming the butter and sugar we creamed it with an egg at a time and it worked out perfectly. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
followed recipe exactly, they were kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
really nice and moist cake. i would recommend using more milk than it says on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I used an all purpose gluten-free flour and added a tablespoon of instant espresso powder and it came out divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was amazing! I had extra icing so I just whipped it up, substituting peanut oil for butter. They taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 750) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States