Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, right down to every sift, cream, stir, and beat. The cupcakes were dry and stuck to the wrappers like cement. They also completely overflowed and turned into giant brick-like muffins instead of moist dainty cupcakes. I tried them again today, only I doubled the butter and added a quarter cup more milk, and I only filled the cups 1/3 or 1/4 of the way. This time they turned out perfect, so the only flaw in the recipe is the butter. I think the author made a mistake recording the butter, because 3 TBs simply isn't enough to provide proper moisture to not only prevent the cupcakes from sticking to the wrapper, but to keep the cupcakes moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
When I cooked these, they puffed up way to high and then I took them out and they sunk completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly as stated and these came out fantastic! Thanks for sharing!! Paired with chocolate icing..these are definitely a favorite :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skinnymanda1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Agassiz, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made these cupcakes for my daughters basketball team and they loved them so much they asked for more! It was a super easy to follow recipe and they came out great. Swapped the cocoa powder for more flour and increased the vanilla to 1tsp and made vanilla and chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Good chocolate taste, but too dry. And makes at least 20 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I followed recipe and they overflowed and took longer to cook but they still tasted good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Although they are chocolatey, the cupcake was way too dense for my taste. I was looking for something more airy. I also have to agree w/some regarding trying to cream 3 TBSP of butter.... I'll be looking for a different recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Looks delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Amazing every time, even added some chocolate chips every once in awhile. Rich, fluffy and YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Unfortunately I didnt try making these cupcakes before bringing them to a Christmas party. Although the flavor is good I believe the ratio of butter to sugar is off enough to make these a bit dry. Thankfully I have a tendance to pipe the frosting! Will not become a go to recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 735) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States