Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very dry even though I only added 1/2 cup cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Perez
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is the BEST chocolate cupcake recipe of ALL TIME! Its NOT crumby or dry, and the cocoa powder was just the right amount to make the cupcake have that melted chocolate taste! It is extremely moist and basically melts in your mouth. This cupcake is now my signature chocolate recipe and everybody loves it! super easy too! LOVEEEE ITTTTT! P.S i added about half a tablespoon of butter(maybe less) more to ensure extra moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Absolutely lovely recipe and results. I did however make an adjustment, I melted the butter and mixed it with the eggs and vanilla, and then sifted the flour, cocoa, leavening agents and sugar together, then added the dry ingredients and the egg mixture, and the milk in alternately, I ended up with 12 regular size cupcakes and a small tray of 12 mini, big ones for the big people and tiny ones for me the diabetic. I will use this time and time again. I made lemon frosting for them, and the mixture of dark chocolate cake with tangy lemon frosting was heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The first time I tried this recipe, it turned out better than my original chocolate cupcake. But I still wasn't satisfied with its texture. It needed to be more moist. So I substituted milk with heavy cream, and the all-purpose flour with cake flour, and it was amazing! Everyone loved it. A friend of mine whom I have given these cupcakes as a gift described it as [a bite of] "heaven"! Just a little caution, since I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour, it won't give you a beautiful dome shape. But, according to my taste buds, it will give you a softer cupcake. Also, I baked them for 25 minutes because 15 minutes will give me cupcakes that falls apart when I eat them. 25 minutes gives me cupcakes with a bit crunchy outside, and a moist inside. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi Raneses

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I thought they tasted amazing but my friends (all of them Germans. I mention that because I've noticed that Germans seem to like less sugar then Americans. I'm not its not true for everyone, but I've noticed this in the last year that I've lived in Germany) thought they were too sweet. I didn't even use frosting, but instead powdered sugar. I thought they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this recipe twice and the second time was better because I added about a cup of choclate chips to give it a more chocolate taste the first time I tasted the cocoa powder and cocoa powder does not taste great but other than that my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T and the cupcakes are so dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These were some pretty good cupcakes! So after going through a lot of the reviews and deciding to make them, I also took the advice of some others and used 1/2 stick of butter instead of 3 tbsp. While I was beating the butter and sugar it was crumbly which I kinda freaked out about, but it was ok so don't worry. Also, minor adjustment but I filled each cup about halfway full and they were the perfect height, not spilling over like a muffin. They were a tiny bit dry, but it was probably my fault for not watching them close enough while they were baking. I made some vanilla frosting and sprinkled some crushed candy cane on top and they were the perfect Christmas treats! :) My only advice is watch them super closely becasue they will probably be done in less than 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This chocolate cupcake recipe IS moist and fluffy, if you follow it down to the T (AND if you do not "over-mix"). If you want it sweeter, I would suggest adding chocolate chips in the batter, or even a nice frosting. This is now in my favorite non-vegan choco-cupcake recipes thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made cupcakes for my daughter's birthday for her class, and the kids love it!. In the past I usually used a different recipe but most of the kids will eat only the frosting. But this time they finished the entire cupcake. I guess I am going to use this recipe from now on.. I agreed with most of the reviewers, fill the batter only 1/2 of the cup otherwise it will overflow. I did the cupcakes the night before and they were very moist next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena
Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States