Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by SBuxton93
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
this was the best recipe ever. I made extra large cupcakes about 8 of them, I also used this recipe for regular sized cupcakes about 20 of them. As suggested, I wouldn't fill these more than half way, especially if you plan on frosting them. These taste almost like brownies they are so chocolaty. I also made these for my in-law for mothers day and some other mothers and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBuxton93

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pablo, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Didn't turn out. First off, if you fill them 3/4 full, they WILL overflow. Fill them only have way. Secondly, they will raise up HUGE and then fall in the center, making for very ugly cupcakes. I don't think that 3 Tablespoons of butter is enough. As for taste, it wasn't the best. Not a cupcake, more like a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I did not really like this recipe. I found the cupcakes to be too dry. Needs either more fat or fruit puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I was rushing for a last minute dessert, halfed recipe, melted butter, and just dumped everything into a bowl and mixed by hand. I did use coffee extract and threw in a couple of handfuls of chocolate chips - aside from that, stayed true to recipe. Baked up beautifully with deep dark chocolate flavor in exactly 16 minutes. Nice, light, fluffy and yet with an interesting brownie-like chewiness. Absolutely delicious! Don't let the other reviews scare you away - these were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I did not care for this recipe! As others said- they overflowed the cups, and then sank in the middle. Unfortunately, I only saw the rave reviews before I tried this. I looked at some other recipes- they all call for 1 teaspoon of baking powder, not the 2 in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gunsan, Cholla-Bukto, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
The cupcakes didn't come out well. They over flowed and sank in the middle. The flavor was good but the cupcakes were crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I was looking for a mocha chocolate cupcake recipe and found this. It was really good, however I did use 1/2 cup of butter and added 1 tablespoon of coffee to give it the mocha flavoring I wanted. I made 24 large cupcakes with this recipe, and iced with chocolate fudge buttercream (a recipe I also found on this site). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Made these for a high school club. The children loved them. They were soft and very tasty with or without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas
Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Very very dry, I WAS going to sell this at a bake sale but not anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I made these and they were gorgeous!! Except for I usually use Hershey cocoa powder, but only had Toll House. And it does make a difference. In my opinion, the Toll House was meant for brownies, chewy. So, for cake recipes use Hershey cocoa powder. I did not like the cake, but I am going to try again and hopefully it will work out better. My family loved it. I put homemade sprinkles and yellow-lemon icing on. Will defenitley try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 716) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States