Chocolate Cupcakes with Caramel Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blonde Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
AMAZING!!! Extremely moist and delicate. I didn't make the frosting but made a mocha frosting instead. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blonde Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mickey
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Nice looking cupcake and very tasty. I used my own frosting to make Easter Cupcakes. I also used Splenda instead of sugar which cut out over 200 calories per cupcake! I liked that I didn't need butter since I was out of butter anyway. I will make these cupcakes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
What a fun recipe! My efforts made 17 cupcakes, which were gone within 24 hours. I love caramel frosting, and it went really well with the chocolate cake, which was very moist and flavorful. My husband is still trying to figure out what the grape jelly and the mayo were for--lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I woke up at 6am this morning with a desperate craving for chocolate cupcakes (yes, I'm pregnant!). I did a quick search and decided to try this recipe. As I was measuring I discovered I was almost out of sugar so I ended up using 1/2 cup sugar + 12 packets of splenda which is the recommended substitute amount. I also added an extra tablespoon of jam - strawberry because that's what I had on hand. The result is amazing! Light and fluffy and tastes delicious. I skipped the frosting because I figured I'm already getting more than enough calories for breakfast here :) I was so distracted by the jelly in the recipe that I completely missed that it had mayonnaise until I was halfway through. If I'd noticed I might have skipped this recipe, but I'm so glad I didn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolana111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I was very skeptical of the mayo and grape jelly but these turned out great!! I never leave reviews but I had to with this one! These are great. I made my own frosting, but I really wouldn't change anything! love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've made these twice now and get so many compliments on them! With a couple adjustments (less sugar, less baking soda, more mayo) they are my secret to a great, moist cupcake at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This will be my go to recipe for chocolate cupcakes!! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe, so thank you! Cupcakes were very moist and flavorful, and the frosting was brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I didn't actually make the caramel frosting, but this chocolate cake recipe is perfect for cupcakes - nicely chocolate-y and makes a beautiful mounded top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAIGEDOLIVER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Jennifer P.
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I unfortunately did not realize I was out of jelly until after i started making these. But i figured I would try them anyway. In appearance, they came out just beautifully...nice mound on the top, perfect texture....BUT in taste they were definitely missing something. THE JELLY IS NEEDED (in my opinion)I will try these again after i re-stock my jelly to compare with the first batch. Incidently, my son gobbled them all up so they were just fine for him. I did not make the frosting so can't comment, instead I sprinkled mini chocolate chips on the tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States