Chocolate Cupcakes with Caramel Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Excellent chocolate cupcake recipe. I wasn't in love with the frosting, but the most important thing is making a moist, delicious cupcake and this recipe did the trick. I did cook them about 5 minutes less than the recipe said. This will probably be my go-to chocolate cupcake recipe from here on out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
What a fun recipe! My efforts made 17 cupcakes, which were gone within 24 hours. I love caramel frosting, and it went really well with the chocolate cake, which was very moist and flavorful. My husband is still trying to figure out what the grape jelly and the mayo were for--lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I doubled the recipe for a my daughter's class on her birthday. It made around 35 VERY full cupcakes. It could have easily made three dozen, so don't fill them too full. Also, it said just to mix until blended, I recommend mixing it well. The grape jelly was still a little chunky. Other than that, GREAT cupcake and exceptionally moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These are delicious! Who knew grape jelly and mayo would be the secret ingredients to such yummy cupcakes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I woke up at 6am this morning with a desperate craving for chocolate cupcakes (yes, I'm pregnant!). I did a quick search and decided to try this recipe. As I was measuring I discovered I was almost out of sugar so I ended up using 1/2 cup sugar + 12 packets of splenda which is the recommended substitute amount. I also added an extra tablespoon of jam - strawberry because that's what I had on hand. The result is amazing! Light and fluffy and tastes delicious. I skipped the frosting because I figured I'm already getting more than enough calories for breakfast here :) I was so distracted by the jelly in the recipe that I completely missed that it had mayonnaise until I was halfway through. If I'd noticed I might have skipped this recipe, but I'm so glad I didn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolana111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I was very skeptical of the mayo and grape jelly but these turned out great!! I never leave reviews but I had to with this one! These are great. I made my own frosting, but I really wouldn't change anything! love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
The cupcakes were very moist and delicious! I wasn't too keen on the frosting. It didn't come out fluffy as I expected but overall, it was okay! I'd have to give this recipe an 8 out of 10 because of the frosting. I cannot believe the mayo and jelly were part of the recipe but I'm assuming they contributed to the moistness of the cupcake. Definitely a keeper! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've made these twice now and get so many compliments on them! With a couple adjustments (less sugar, less baking soda, more mayo) they are my secret to a great, moist cupcake at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This will be my go to recipe for chocolate cupcakes!! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
That is not a fair rating because I did alter the recipe so that is probable why it wasn't very good. I was out of mayo (we use miracle whip) but i thought using plain yogurt would work ok. No it wasn't. so don't try that substitution
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States