Chocolate Cupcakes with Caramel Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Jennifer P.
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I unfortunately did not realize I was out of jelly until after i started making these. But i figured I would try them anyway. In appearance, they came out just beautifully...nice mound on the top, perfect texture....BUT in taste they were definitely missing something. THE JELLY IS NEEDED (in my opinion)I will try these again after i re-stock my jelly to compare with the first batch. Incidently, my son gobbled them all up so they were just fine for him. I did not make the frosting so can't comment, instead I sprinkled mini chocolate chips on the tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I didn't actually make the caramel frosting, but this chocolate cake recipe is perfect for cupcakes - nicely chocolate-y and makes a beautiful mounded top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAIGEDOLIVER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by JuJuMum
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Very good. I could not find grape jelly so I used jam which was NOT a good idea as it has whole blueberries in it. The cake is soft and fluffy but next time I will use more cocoa. I did not make the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuJuMum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe, so thank you! Cupcakes were very moist and flavorful, and the frosting was brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mickey
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Nice looking cupcake and very tasty. I used my own frosting to make Easter Cupcakes. I also used Splenda instead of sugar which cut out over 200 calories per cupcake! I liked that I didn't need butter since I was out of butter anyway. I will make these cupcakes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
That is not a fair rating because I did alter the recipe so that is probable why it wasn't very good. I was out of mayo (we use miracle whip) but i thought using plain yogurt would work ok. No it wasn't. so don't try that substitution
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This will be my go to recipe for chocolate cupcakes!! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've made these twice now and get so many compliments on them! With a couple adjustments (less sugar, less baking soda, more mayo) they are my secret to a great, moist cupcake at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
The cupcakes were very moist and delicious! I wasn't too keen on the frosting. It didn't come out fluffy as I expected but overall, it was okay! I'd have to give this recipe an 8 out of 10 because of the frosting. I cannot believe the mayo and jelly were part of the recipe but I'm assuming they contributed to the moistness of the cupcake. Definitely a keeper! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I was very skeptical of the mayo and grape jelly but these turned out great!! I never leave reviews but I had to with this one! These are great. I made my own frosting, but I really wouldn't change anything! love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States