Chocolate Cupcakes with Caramel Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
SU-FRIGGIN-PERB. I dont rate often so... I was terrified of the mayo - but its really eggs, oil and vinegar. These are so light and fluffy and not too sweet. Sinful. Used valhrona cocoa ( little bit more) and raspberry jam. Havent even got to the frosting but these are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
very good recipe would need a bit more description on how to make the caramel icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blonde Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
AMAZING!!! Extremely moist and delicate. I didn't make the frosting but made a mocha frosting instead. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blonde Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The cupcakes themselves are a solid 5. They're moist, delicious and not too sweet. The frosting, however, was only ok. It came out more like a glaze and I had to add a lot of powdered sugar to thicken it up. Then it was too stiff. I think that next time, I will pour it from the pan into my stand mixer and see if I can get it whipped better that way. It tastes like the glaze they put on maple bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These cupcakes worked wonderfully! I'm surprised to see so many people unsatisfied with the frosting! It was delicious and and was a wonderful consistency... Although I did use whipping cream instead of half and half- maybe that was the difference it needed! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These cupcakes are really moist, even straight out of the fridge. Also tried making them vegan: subbed 1 cup of soy mayo plus one tablespoon of vegetable (soy) oil, and they came out equally moist and good. Made marshmallow frosting instead of the one here, and toasted each marshmallow top with a kitchen torch. Yum (and can be done ahead). One thing for next time: let the grape jelly come to room temp before adding to the batter, otherwise there will be little chunks of it throughout the batter instead of it getting fully incorporated. One more thing: some reviewers here had trouble with chunks of fruit in the preservers they used messing up the consistency of the finished product. The recipe calls for jelly (made from fruit juice), not jam or other preserves which can include pieces of the fruit itself. The cheapest store-brand grape jelly works great! No chunks, just perfectly smooth and clear, like grape jello almost. *After making this recipe many times (cake only, not the frosting): doubling the recipe will make enough for three cake layers. Not sure why I ever bothered with more complicated recipes. This is as moist and delicious as it gets. But, do sift the dry ingredients. Otherwise, you may notice little white clumps in the cake. Have made this as a layer cake: carved out a "shelf" from the top of two of the layers with a serrated knife, and filled them with some homemade pudding (caramel, banana, etc.). Then, assembled, with whipped cream frosting. Ridiculous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EverSince

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Hmm... well i knew that mayonaise is the secret ingredient to many a great cake recipes, but these cupcakes were lacking in flavor. They were super moist and dense, but I was wanting more of a chocolate flavor. They are kind of bland. Will have to be sure to use a very chocolatey frosting i suppose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c00kie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I'm not sure what happened, but to my complete frustration, these stuck to the pan like a mother, and did not work out at all. The crumbled bits tasted pretty good, but they had a very inconsistent texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
The cake recipe was great. Was not a huge fan of the frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I was a little iffy about these at first. Had to make some chocolate cupcakes for a cupcake decorating activity at my best friend's Bridal Shower that I was catering and hosting. Her colors were black and pink, so I wanted pink cupcake and chocolate cupcakes. I tested these the day before and they were DELICIOUS!! Super moist and fluffy, I LOVED them. I did not make the frosting, however, and I only gave four stars because, while they tasted amazing, they had a weird green tint to them. No one said anything, but it bothered me the whole time we were decorating cupcakes. Only think I changed was using black cherry jelly in place of grape because you will never find grape jelly in my home. I think it is revolting and vile. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States