Chocolate Cupcakes with Caramel Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The cupcake batter was very easy to prepare. It was a fun kid friendly recipe as well, but the frosting tasted more like a licquor or something, it is hard to put into words but it was way too sweet for the cupcake itself. I have to say I prepared the frosting to a "T" and it came out exactly as planned. It was about the same as a buttercream consistency wise so I was excited to see that until I got all done frosting the cupcakes and tested one. I couldn't finish it it was just so sweet it was making my tongue stick to the roof of my mouth. I will say again, the cupcakes were nice and moist and not overpowering chocolate wise but the frosting did not match them well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
At first when they came out and I tasted them, I already noticed that they weren't very good. They don't taste like a traditional chocolate cupcake if that is what you are trying to find. Then I made the frosting. It seemed like it wasn't going to work out, and then it did. The frosting tastes very good, however, it is not fluffy or light enough. When I tried to put it on the cupcake, as a result of the lack of egg (which should hold it together) and the stiffness of the frosting, the cupcakes fell apart. I don't plan on using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
These are super moist! The icing is really sweet but delicious. I suggest making 1.5 times the icing, if you are using a piping bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is the BEST chocolate cupcake recipe I have ever come across! I never would've expected adding grape jelly and mayo to turn out so well. However, and this is for my own taste preferences, I did double the cocoa powder and swapped 1/4 cup of the sugar for brown sugar. The icing was equally delicious. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I didn't use the caramel frosting so this only applies to the cupcake. Absolutely terrible it had little to no flavor and was dry. I did substitute sugar with truvia and butter with a baking butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Wow!! I have never used mayo in cakes before, but it is incredibly good! I didn't make cupcakes, I used two cake pans and made a layer cake. The batter was delicious, but the baked cake had a weird smell to it, so I was a bit skeptical. But don't let the smell fool you, this cake is amazing! I didn't have grape jelly, because I can't stand that stuff, so I used "Simply Fruit Black Cherry" instead (I think that's jam?). And I used cake flour, since I just discovered cake flour and I like experimenting with it. I did put chocolate chips in it, as someone else suggested, but I think it threw off the texture, so next time I'll skip them. This cake is not all that sweet, which I really like. No sugar coma here. The flavor is rich and chocolatey, the texture is soft, moist and fluffy, with just the right amount of density. I didn't make the caramel frosting, I used the whipped cream cream cheese frosting from this site, and the combination is out of this world. This chocolate cake with that frosting turned into a delicious, not too sweet, and surprisingly light layer cake. I will make this over and over and over. And it is so quick and easy to make! Cake heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
The cupcakes were just so-so. Too moist - almost soggy - even though they tested "done" before I removed them from the oven. I did not make the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Cupcake is light and yummy. Frosting is too sweet and not much flavor. Also frosting seized up on me. Will use my own frosting next time but will keep batter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
this has been my go to for the last couple years! love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
very moist, very fluffy, totally making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States