Chocolate Crinkles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Delicious, with a lovely texture! We loved these. I flattened mine slightly because I prefer flat cookies. These cookies do spread quite a bit so don't go less than 2" between them on the sheet. I used the stated amount of granulated sugar, but skimped on the confectioner's sugar because I have this phobia of too-sweet foods. It came out perfect for our tastes. BTW the Star Trek blob was Horta, not Ahorta. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
As written, 2 stars for tasting more like the flour/egg than the chocolate. With my modifications -- FOUR STARS. Before rolling into balls, I made a little indent with my thumb and filled with either (1) a chopped up piece from a Kraft caramel candy square and 1 or 2 chocolate chips; (2) a little peanut butter and a couple of chocolate chips; or (3) a few white/semi-sweet chocolate chips. This made for 3 varieties of cookies with delicious surprises in the center that spread out into the rest of the cookie when bakes. As written, I wouldn't make again, but with my modifications, I'll return to this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIMI1414

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Good cookie, simple. I like to add a bit more chocolate (1square) for a richer cookie. For the reviewer that gave no stars because they didn't know what to do with the chocolate....the ingredients says "melted".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Jekhill, It clearly states in the ingredients that the chocolate is supposed to be MELTED. I grew up making these cookies every year for Christmas. My mom, sister and I still make them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I've never made Chocolate Crinkle Cookies that turned out this good! These were very soft and didn't flatten out like my other recipe does. I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by cookiemonstar
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Yummy! These are definitely "milk & cookie" cookies! I was impatient and only left these in the fridge for about 30 minutes. The key is to not over work the dough when you are rolling... that's when things start getting really messy! I like to add white chocolate chunks or chocolate chips to the batter to give it a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonstar
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
These were awesome! I was looking for something right away, so I froze the batter while I preheated the oven, and made one batch (effectively half) on a cookie sheet. Those were okay, but not very chocolately. The 2nd batch froze for an extra 15 mins while the 1st batch cooked. I put the second batch in a muffin tins, just rolling the balls pretty big and putting one in each muffin cup. I was vigilant not to overcook them (I cooked the cookie sheet batch for 10 minutes, but it was too long), I cooked them for about 13-15 minutes in my oven, although it's hard to tell b/c I kept checking on them. I learned that they puff up a little when they are done. They were awesome! Fudgy and perfect. Next time I might add chocolate chips or maybe a mini peanut butter cup in the middle of the muffin cup before i bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
We love these cookies. Moist, chewy, Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
We were hoping for a stronger chocolate flavour. These were too mild, hence the lower rating. Ours didn't flatten out, as we were expecting. We're glad we didn't have any sticky problems. They were very pretty though so I will try making them again...perhaps a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Very yummylicious as my daughter stated! I followed recipe as is except I halved it and used 1/4 cup of applesauce instead of the 1/4 cup of oil and I added 1 T. of Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa to mixture. They were very soft and had a wonderful chocolate taste. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States