Chocolate Crinkles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I wouldn't roll it in icing sugar the next time. Half of it disappears during the baking process. Instead, I would sprinkle it on after they've cooled. My tip for that is to use a loose tea spoon and fill with the icing sugar. It works great! Mine came out nice and chewy in the middle. It's not overly sweet, still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Just like mom used to make! I used a tablespoon to measure the dough and baked for exavtly twelve minutes. They were still a bit fudgy in the middle but I think that's how they're best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nikiski, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kasilof, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is a family favorite and has been since before I was born. I have no idea if this is the same recipe my grandma uses (probably not), but it tastes the same! And that's good enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Mmm.. Delicious, BEAUTIFUL cookies! The only thing I would change is instead of covering the dough in sugar and then rolling into a ball, roll it into a ball first, and then just dip the top half into the powdered sugar. Covering it with sugar on the bottom too made it more difficult to get off of the pan. My cookies came out a little sweeter than was intended, because I didn't have any unsweetened baking squares, only semi-sweet, But I think I will be using Semi-sweet always. They taste sooo good. Upon baking these a second time, I want to add, be sure to use the baker's chocolate squares, and do not try to substitute with cocoa powder. The cocoa powder gives a conversion chart to make a baker's square.. but it is -not- the same. The cookies this time spread out MUCH more in the oven and were a lot flatter. Not as good imo, though, maybe if your going for a flatter cookie this would work? :-p And one more tip, they are even easier to work with if you place them in the freezer instead of the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraR
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Followed the recipe to a "T". I chilled the dough for 5 hours. We Loved the cookies. I got seven dozen cookies using the small cookie scoop from Pampered Chef. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rupert, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This recipe turned out so well for me. I made a similar recipe before, and the cookies turned out really flat and sort of crunchy. But things were in the right proportions in this one so that they turned out soft and a little chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Somewhere between melting the chocolate and baking the dough, something went horribly wrong. Mine turned out so cake-y. Modifications were: (1) used semisweet chocolate squares as I didn't have unsweetened ones on hand and (2) decreased the amount of sugar due to the already-sweet squares. This is the first time I made chocolate crinkles using melted chocolate. I'm sticking to cocoa powder. Thanks for sharing, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
These cookies tasted great, but I found the dough to be way too sticky to work with. This may have been because I was out of all-purpose flour, so I substituted a half-and-half mixture of cake and bread flours. However, I always do this when I am out of all-purpose and it has always worked before! Anyway, I ended up adding a little more flour, some sugar, and some cocoa powder, and I used tons of powdered sugar to roll them in. This worked pretty well, and the cookies went over very well. They were good, but I don't think I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Found and used this recipe tonight. Amazing!!!! I've tried other recipes for crinkles before, they never came out right. These are perfect! Baked up soft and round and fabulous. Couple of side notes: no need to cool the chocolate if you don't overheat it, the oil, sugar, and eggs will cool it plenty. Also, instead of chilling overnight, I popped my dough in the freezer for 45 min, worked perfectly. :) Thank you so much for this recipe, it's never leaving my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These cookies are awesome! This was the first time that I have ever made chocolate crinkles and they turned out wonderful! I didn't have any problems with sticking but that is probably because I greased my pans very generously. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States