Chocolate Crinkles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
These are good, but I was surprised it didn't seem to have a lot of flavor beyond the chocolate and sugar. The sugar seemed a bit strong to me. If I were to make again, I'd probably add a little more vanilla and less sugar. But that's my preference. My husband loved them though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Very good cookie -- I used one bar of Ghirardelli unsweetened chocolate, and I added 1 tsp of instant coffee granules to the melted chocolate. They needed to bake a bit longer than the recipe stated, and they still remained chewy. I suspect these would be fantastic with peppermint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This is the best Chocolate Crinkles recipe!! Our family has been baking these for decades. Baking chocolate (not cocoa as some recipes use) makes these cookies rich and fudgy. You can't mess these up; even little children enjoy making them. The recipe should say "4 ounces of unsweetened chocolate, MELTED AND COOLED". Also, chilling the dough is an important step - otherwise, the dough will be too soft to work with. I chill it overnight, then put the bowl out on the counter for 1/2 hour before beginning to bake. (If the cookies don't spread as much as you'd like during baking, you can start pressing down gently on the tops of the cookies before putting them into the oven.) We love these cookies - they're brownies in cookie form!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
These are the best!!!! Everytime I make these I am asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TastyDish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Best cookie I've had in a long time. My best friend's mother used to make these when we were in junior high and I've looked for years for a receipe for these. They are as good as I remember them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hartselle, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Actually, the way this recipe is written, it doesn't make sense. It says mix oil, chocolate and sugar. What do you do with the chocolate? Grate it? Melt it? Hmmm... I had to do my own thing, but would like to know how the recipe is actually made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This is the crinkle recipe to use!!!!My Mom has been making them over over 40 years and I have also been making them for at least 15 years. It's a foolproof recipe which makes lots of cookies. One sure tip would be: being that the dough is sticky, flour your hands often and then roll the chocolate balls, it goes a lot faster that way. Enjoy!!! Everyone will love these delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Try rolling the balls in regular white granulated sugar before baking (instead of confectioner's) It makes the cookies more carmelized on the outside. It is SO good. Of all the crinkle recipes posted I think this is the best because the vegetable oil makes them better for you but they're still SO light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This is my favorite cookie recipe! With the batch I just made, I tried it with the Baking Splenda - using only 1 cup of Baking Splenda versus 2 cups of Sugar & the cookies turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsonburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Euclid, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Excellent, and pretty on a cookie tray. Freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States