Chocolate Crinkles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This is a great recipe. For me, This cookie has been a reputation maker for me. It has been my most requested cookie to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, except I did as one reviewer suggested and stuck the dough in the freezer for about 45 minutes. Then I used a lightly oiled tablespoon scoop to drop the dough into the confectioner's sugar. I rolled it around for a bit and then formed it into a ball before plopping it on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper. I squished the dough balls down a bit before baking for about 15 minutes. The cookies spread a lot more than I thought they would, so I'm glad that they were placed about 2 inches apart. [I actually like the flatter version more than the little mounds you see in the photos] Despite the extended baking time and flat-ish shape, they still came out chewy and soft and fudgy [maybe a tiny bit crisp or hard on the sides]. They really are brownies in cookie form :D [Note: 1/4 a recipe yielded 10 cookies. I used a rounded, generous tablespoon for each cookie.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Yummy yummy, just like the chocolate crinkles my mom and I used to make every Christmas. They were mine and my dad's favorite cookies! I think using the unsweetened squares of chocolate, rather than cocoa powder, makes these cookies as chocolatey as they should be. If you are a chocolate lover, you will LOVE these cookies. I followed the recipe exactly, and the cookies came out perfect. Just make sure not to overbake, or else you will end up with hard cookies. These need to be soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug324

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Fantastic. Much better than other recipes I've tried that call for cake mix or powdered cocoa rather melted chocolate. I used a rounded teaspoon to make these cookies and I was able to make fifty cookies from this recipe and I still have two cups of dough sitting in my fridge. For cleanliness sake I would definitely recommend keeping your hands and spoon covered in powdered sugar as well as rolling the dough in the sugar inside of a large plastic bag. I'm still not sure that these are as good as the chocolate crackles that my mother used to make from a lost recipe (she thinks it did involve powdered cocoa but butter instead of oil) but this is the best recipe I have been able to lay my hands on and everyone I gave these to thought they were the best chocolate crackles they'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I tried.....but for me it kind of a simple taste...and not like much....but thank you for sharing this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
delicious! I love chewy soft cookies like this. My husband loves them. I followed the previous reviewers suggestion and greased the cookie sheets prior to baking, and I'm glad I did. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Found this cookie to be a mild flavored cookie, would have liked a stronger chocolate flavor. Nice chewy cookie and beautiful crinkle finish. Difficult to get off cookie sheet, maybe greasing sheet would have helped. I had no consistency problems, seems the refrigerating took care of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
FANTASTIC!! Super easy to make and just delicious. I agree with the other reviewer who said they have a slight crispy crunch on the outside but are soft like a brownie on the inside. The are nice and chocolately/fudgy tasting and the sweet confectioners sugar on the outside is such a nice balance. These are definitely going on my cookie trays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This is the best Crinkle recipe I have ever tried! I made them today for the first time and they turned out so soft and chewy. I have tried others in the past, but none were ever this good. I didn't bake them on a normal cookie sheet, but instead used the Demarle Silpat and perforated cookie sheet. I will be definitely making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Tasty. As someone put it, brownies in cookie form. Didn't change a thing and they came out yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States