Chocolate Crinkles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
YUM- these are rich, chocolaty and delightful! I refrigerated them overnight which helped with the sticky dough. Also, as other reviewers suggested I transferred the dough straight from the cookie dough scoop to the powder sugar. Handling it less helped with the stickiness as well. Thanks for this keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
These are FANTASTIC! I have always loved crinkle cookies, just had never made them myself. I was looking for a little chocolate fix earlier this week, and didn't have too many things in the pantry to work with, but I had almost enough cocoa powder to make 1/4 of this recipe. They turned out absolutely amazing. I took the advice of another reviewer and stuck the batter in the freezer for about 25 minutes (didn't take long with a small batch), but they were not sticky at all when I rolled them and threw them in the powdered sugar. Aside from not having any whole eggs, so I had to sub egg whites, I followed the recipe exactly, they crinkled perfectly in the oven, and they are now my new favorite cookies to make! I love so much that they don't contain any butter and very little oil. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bondurant, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made these exactly as directed. I used Hershey's brand cocoa powder. I used a tiny ice cream scoop, to make smaller cookies. Once they baked, cooled, and set, they were about 1.5" in diameter. 350 for 10 minutes was perfect for the small cookies. I also made a batch with a 1.5 tablespoon scoop, and those were best baked at 350 for 12 minutes. Since these are super rich, I think I will stick with the smaller size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Family Favorite from now on!! I let my batter sit overnight, and they still came out perfectly the next evening. NO changes were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McCoy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Really good- chilled the dough for about 24 hours, turned out delicious! Once they cooled, I put them in an airtight container to store for 1 day. They taste great fresh out of the oven and cooled as well. It was a real crowd-pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very good and easy to make! I chilled the dough in the frig for close to 5 hours and didn't have too much trouble with sticky dough. I would fill one cookie sheet and then put the rest of the dough back in the frig while the one pan baked. I added one teaspoon of peppermint extract, as per other reviews and I am glad I did. It was just a hint of peppermint, not too over powering. I plan on making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
this recipe has made so many people begging for more! my nephew's all time favourite... so simple and straight forward. I have been playing around with this recipe for a long time and for a healthier choice, i use half a cup less of sugar and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and the cookies turned out just as good. Also, i hate waiting so i just put the mixture in the freezer for 45-60 mins instead of chilling it for full 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Delicious. Making them this evening (didn't change a thing in the recipe except I didn't use parchment paper.) I don't know how long these cookies will last - quartered the recipe. Will be making this for Christmas cookie tins. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I made 1 1/2 times the recipe, added 1/2 cup cocoa (since some people said it wasn't as rich as they expected, and it was too sticky) and 1/4 cup sugar and another Tablespoon good quality vanilla sugar. I put the dough in the freezer for 1 1/2 hours. It worked out fine, as, as soon as you start rolling the cookies into balls and gently covering with powdered sugar, some of the sugar stays on your hands and prevents the next cookie from sticking. I used slightly heaping dessertspoons of the dough. They turned out great! (About 135 cookies -- not sure, cuz we were tasting!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chossid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Simferopol, Crimea (Autonomous Republic), Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Love these cookies. I followed other advise, being generous with powdered sugar, raising the rack, and I also added 1tsp instant espresso powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States