Chocolate Crinkle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Wow! Okay, I know what needs to be done to make this recipe perfect. After reading the disappointing reviews, I made the following changes. In addition to the 1 ounce of semi sweet chocolate, I added 1/3 cup of cocoa powder. I also reduced the chocolate chips to 1/2 cup. I refrigerated about 4 hours & baked at 350 for 12 minutes. I also did not grease the pan and the cookies came off great. These turned out perfect! Great sweetness, nice and chocolately, chewy and moist, yet crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I followed HEIDI's suggestion to add 1/3 cup of cocoa to the dough, but I still added 1 cup of mini- chocolate chips. I cooked them 10.5 minutes and I was very pleased with the intense chocolate flavor and the chewy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
We used to make these as kids, and this recipe was just what I was looking for! I did make a few modifications, though. I reduced the white sugar to 3/4 cup; omitted the chocolate chips and added 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder to the flour mixture instead; and then added 1/2 teaspoon instant espresso coffee powder to the flour mixture as well. I chilled the dough for 2 hours, but would refrigerate for more like 4 hours next time. They came out great and my family wanted more...Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I may have missed something in the other reviews but ... this recipe seems to be missing some flour. I couldn't roll these cookies, after leaving the dough in the refrigerator overnight. I am still waiting for my first batch to come out of the oven and it has been over 15 minutes - they just look goopy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kasiw
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
The only change I made was using 1 1/4 cups of chocolate chips instead of the bar chocolate and melted it all in with the butter. Turned out PERFECT! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
LOVED THIS! A very sweet cookie! I tripled the recipe and used Chocolate Chips instead of Semi Sweet Chocolate! My Kids loved these as well. I will definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMCANULTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These were truly terrific! I also adjusted the recipe by adding cocoa powder to the cookies (1/3 cup) and I think it was a fantastic choice. I also made the cookies a little bigger than one inch after the first batch was a little too small. I cooked them for ten minutes and although they seemed way underdone, they firmed up marvelously. They were the perfect chocolaty consistency. I was told "They're as good as Grandma's"! Great compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Fantastic chocolate cookies! Made exactly as stated and i will definately make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
These are one of my brother's and sister's FAVORITE cookies! Be sure to add the chocolate chips or they will not turn out, they will still be dough no matter how long you bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These cookies are heavenly! Soft, delicate, and very chocolatey! I didn't change anything (which is rare) I have made similar cookies before, but the addition of chocolate chips, really puts this recipe ahead of the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States