Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Velvety! This is definitely the best homemade pudding recipe I've ever tried! No starchy taste, no overly stiff texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Very good! You can't really get to fancy w/ chocolate pudding so this is a basic recipe. Very chocolately. Just remember to prevent clumping add a little water or milk to the cornstartch before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
very time comsuming but a true traditional chocolate pudding . I fi you want pudding without artificial colors, flavorings, and preservatives this is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
My two-year old loves pudding and I have decided to start making it from scratch for her. Daddy and Mommy loved it too! Tastes justl ike Hot Fudge Pudding Cake from Hersheys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
There's a trick to get all of the chocolate to melt. Use a whisk!! This recipe turns out great! My kids just loved it. Also, add the egg yolks in a little at a time, not all at once. This will definitely go into my family's "favorites"! Becky D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I think it is one of the best! bily jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Mimi, this is an excellant recipe. My family and I love it! I lowered the heat a little, to a med-low setting and I used egg yolks at room temp. I shaved the chocolate very fine. It came out very smooth and rich. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I loved this recipe, although I had to wait until it started to bubble up for the chocolate to melt, which created a thick layer that appeared whenever I let it sit. I found it better and more laid back to use less/more of everything. I wouldn't even it all out :) I also recommend to allow siblings to stir! This is great in a parfait with ice cream and cream on top, but do not freeze the parfait, just eat it right on the spot, because it's impossible to pry loose the pudding otherwise. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
Wow! I was looking for milk chocolate pudding and this is it. I did add 1 tsp brown sugar with the butter and vanilla in the end. This adds flavor if you want to chill the mix. Keep in mind High Altitude requires a change in any liquid that needs cooking. Above 3000 feet add 2 min. Above 5000 feet add 4 min, Above 7000 feet add 6 min. The higher you go the longer it will take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I just made this and it is wonderful!! It thickened up perfectly and has a beautiful dark, rich color and flavor. I increased the chocolate by 1/2 since I am a chocolate fiend, but everything else is exactly as written. One note for those who are having trouble with the eggs: you can just whisk them in with everything else at the beginning, and you should have absolutely no lumps at all. I always do it this way since it saves time and gets me to my pudding faster! Whisking will also keep away those icky corn starch lumps and help your chocolate melt evenly without burning. I'mm sorry to hear this wonderful recipe get bad marks just because people don't know how to make pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States