Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
excellent recipe. I've never made pudding before and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Threw out my old chocolate pudding recipe. This is our favorite now! Very intense chocolate flavor and extremely creamy and smooth. My husband said it tasted like a dark choc brownie. I used cocoa powder instead of the unsweetened choc: 3 T of cocoa powder + 1 T. of oil = 1 oz. unsweetened choc. I mounded the tablespoons of cocoa powder for a more intense, almost semisweet chocolate. Couldn't have been easier. Temper the egg yolks by adding a little bit of hot pudding to them before stirring them into the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I know this is a beginners mistake as I haven't made too many puddings from scratch, but the recipe should read to temper the eggs before adding to the pot or add one at a time or both. In my opinion this wasted the whole recipe to have egg bits, which I doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This is wonderful! I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup, and I knew to whisk some of the pudding mixture into the egg yolks. ***You get the best results when you allow the yolks to get to room temperature*** Have fun cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
very nice... was slightly grainy (maybe cooked too long?) also used less sugar and was still really sweet... will try 1/2 c next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this today with my nine yr old daughter. I followed the recommendations on other reviews: 1)mixing cornstarch with a bit of the milk before adding it to the pot. 2) shaving the chocolate 3) Adding a bit of the mixture to the egg yolk before putting the yolk into the pot 3) stirring it constantly with a whisk 4) covering the surface of the pudding with plastic wrap before chilling it. The pudding came out great. The only thing I would do different is to add less sugar. It was too sweet for my taste. My daughter really enjoyed making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I've made this pudding twice now, and it has a permanent place in my recipe box! It's simple to make and tastes great. I took other reviewer's advice and tempered the eggs, which gives it a smoother texture. This pudding is delicious either chilled or warmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Wow! Loved this! I didn't have the squares of chocolate so I added 6 tablespoons of cocoa powder and it turned out wonderful! Keep stirring (key) until you can really see it's thickening. Also, temper the yolks by adding a few tablespoons of the hot mixture to the eggs and stir quickly. Then, add that to the pan. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vparize
Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I loved this pudding!!! However, my husband thought it was too sweet, so for those of you who can't handle things that are extremely rich, you may want to reduce the sugar to 3/4 c. I think that would still be delicious. I will definitely keep this for my go to recipe for pudding. **You should definitely temper the eggs before incorporating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theadra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
We loved it, delicious. For dahlia15: you probably didn't put it on hot enough for cornstarch to work. This is why it wasn't thick. It happens to me too, so I put it on a higher warmth, and it started to thicken more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States