Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I've made this pudding a few times now. I hardly ever have unsweetened chocolate on hand, so I substitute 6 Tbs of cocoa + 2 Tbs canola oil. I also use two whole eggs, and have substituted tapioca starch for the cornstarch. It's turned out great each time with only slight flavor variations depending on the brand/type of cocoa. I also find it simpler to combine all the ingredients except the vanilla and butter (beating eggs first) in a large microwave safe bowl, and cooking on high for 1 - 2 minute intervals, stirring in between, until the pudding thickens up well. I then add the butter and vanilla and pour into serving dishes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This is really delicious warm. So delicious infact, that I may not get to taste it cold! Quick and easy keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was my first try making pudding. Read a few hints from reviewers that helped me out quite a bit. For my tastes too sweet, but I can fix that next time. Hubby and kids will probably love as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bugladynora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Artesia, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Fabulous recipe! When I make homemade pudding and custards, I add the milk and chocolate to the saucepan first, set my electric range temp to level 3 and stir until the chocolate chunks begin to melt. Then I add the sugar, cornstarch, salt and continue to stir until the the chocolate chunks are completely dissolved. Because the temperature of the mixture is still relatively low, I whip the egg yolks (which have been sitting out on my counter the whole time and should be close to room temperature); and add them directly to the saucepan. Then I begin to stir for about 5 minutes on level 3 heat to ensure the egg yolks are mixed in and no clumping forms. After that, I turn the heat up to level 5 and stir until the mixture thickens to my desired thickness. Remove from heat, add the butter and vanilla and continue to whisk. I should have added that I make pudding using a whisk because it ensures zero clumping. It takes a bit longer to make pudding/custard this way but I've never had it clump. Once I pour the pudding into the container(s), I allow it to cool on my counter for about 1 hour and then refrigerate it. You'll still get a pudding skin, but it's very minimal. GREAT recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Pretty good but extremely rich!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was delicious! Can't say enough good things about how yummy it was....we cut the recipe to four servings and added an extra block of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jason#13
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason#13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This recipe is amazing,it is so easy to make,My boys devoured aalmost all of it,i think it turned out very nice for the first time making it,this is a no brainer that i will be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I lovemyfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Ok, I'm in Missouri and I'm pretty sure anything this good isn't legal in my state. So good! All homemade puddings are great, but the extra richness from egg yolks and butter send this over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAROLC80
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Rich and creamy. I forgot how good real pudding tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States