Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T. We didn't like it, it needed more flavor other than sweetness. I was looking for an old fashioned pudding & it just didn't end up that way for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Great proportions. I have made as is, and substituting with coconut milk and tapioca flour for a dairy and grain free treat. As others have stated be sure to temper the egg yolks. 1 yolk = 1 tablespoon. if you whisk the starch with the sugar before cooking there will be no clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This is a yummy pudding ! I used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the unsweetened chocolate, and added a handful of caramel chips..I adjusted the recipe for 3 instead of 6..so easy and it turned out perfect, do it slow and it is a breeze..I will make this over and over 5 star..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Delicious! Added 1/3 C sugar, based on reviews of being too 'dark' and it was perfect! (we prefer ours warm with a dollop of whipped cream on top!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Excellent for pie filling. Sweetness is perfect if making for kids. If making for adults, I would reduce sugar. Used the suggestions about adding cornstarch to milk. I already knew not to just add the yolks to the pot. I will use this recipe when I need to make a chocolate pie. I topped mine with sweetened whipping cream. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Watson, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I added a half oz of dark chocolate to use it up. Added a tube of instant coffee. Used half cup white and heaping 1/4 cup dark brown sugar and still a little sweet for me. DD said it rocked so it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I used bittersweet chocolate and it turned out great. I am going to make a chocolate cream pie using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is chilling in the fridge right now. I didn't have enough chocolate squares so I used regular cocoa powder with some oil (3tbsp per 1 tbsp of oil)I doubled this so that I had the same amount called for in the recipe. It turned out amazing. Tastes like chocolate brownie pudding. Very very chocolaty. I think the cocoa powder may have made it stronger. I think you could do this with any chocolate chip flavor too, just cut down on the sugar or cut it out. Definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVNNSTYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluff, Utah, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
easy to make, great texture and delicious. The reason why i gave it just 4 stars: little bit to sweet and the vanilla penetrates the chocolate. So, cut down the vanilla (1 Tsp is enough) and sugar (1 2/3 cups is still plenty)and its perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ulm, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Rescue, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I'll give it 2 starts for taste and no stars for final product. Not enough instruction info with this recipe after two failed attempts to know what went wrong and caused my "soupy" end result. Don't know if I cooked it long enough, I definitely let it cool before refrigeration. Very frustrating..I will not attempt this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Cooke-Ostrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States