Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
My husband cannot have artificial sugars, so boxed pudding no longer works for us. This is a great pudding recipe that is fast and the ingredients are easy to find in my pantry. I used semi-sweet chocolate because it was what I had. Still came out great, just a little too sweet. Served it warm with pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
chocolate squares can't exist in my house for more than 24hr so I used 6tbl cocoa pwd and 2tbl butter to substitute. This seemed to work fine. It would help if the recipe said "stir until it forms a pudding consistency." I don't have much experience with pudding or corn starch so the first time I made this I stirred for two min and put in the fridge, thinking it'd congeal as it chilled. it does not! You need to stir until it is the consistency you want. Delicious and so fast! loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was a great homemade chocolate pudding. Make sure you temper the eggs and melt your chocolate. I did use a semi-sweet chocolate. I think it would have not been sweet enough for me if I didn't do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Substituted Vanilla Rice Milk with regular milk needed extra cornstarch due to substitute. Very tasty & sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURLYALLISONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
did this with chocolate syrup...worked well but a bit too sweet. good concept though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Good and easy, I used flour instead of the corn starch as I was out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Wow this is a wonderful and easy pudding. I only changed the recipe by using 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup milk, only because I had cream that needed to be used up. I used a whisk and had no problem with my chocolate melting in nicely. I think it tasted good even before adding the egg yolks and the butter but it makes it really rich and creamy so it is worth the added calories and fat. We ate it warm with vanilla ice cream and everyone loved it. Thanks for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was sooooo good! I had 2 yolk to use cause I hate to waste food and stumbled on this recipe. I did mix the cornstarch in the milk first and did temper the eggs instead of adding them straight in. I also had cocoa powder 3 tablespoons with 1 tablespoon veg. oil. So I did waver from the original a bit but it was oh sooo good and smooth and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was the MOST DELICIOUS pudding recipe EVER! I sent him the recipe a few days ago & told him we should try it w/ a few modifications like other recco'ed. My husband had it chilled & waiting for me today after I got home from work. Here are the changes, per some of the other reviews I saw. He cut back the sugar to 3/4 cup. He also used 2.5 (1 oz) squares of the unsweetened chocolate (instead of just 2 oz). It is not too sweet & it is not too bitter - it is perfect. Also, he was sure to grate the chocolate using a microplane, instead of chopping, for easier melting. And finally, the butter at the end is not necessary at all. Also, use a whisk throughout the entire process. And whipped cream is not necessary. It is so rich & chocolately that you can't even taste the whipped cream! PERFECT! Will make over & over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This pudding came out perfectly! I did not have any problems with melting or clumping. We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States