Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
TOO SWEET! I followed the recipe exactly and it was just too sweet for my taste. And I love things sweet. I had guests who all agreed. The kids ate it really slowly which was another clue that it was too sweet. So, I'll keep looking for the right proportions in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
The flavor was good. I didn't care for the texture very much. Not as smooth and creamy as I like. If I make it again, I will try a different kind of chocolate. I used Scharffen-Berger (unsweetened) and I think that might have been the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
oh my god these are so good, so easy and so delicious. I halved the mixture because I didn't need as much and doubled the chocolate because I like mine extra chocolatey. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganeloise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
HEAVEN! it's as simple as that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetRevenge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
tastes great..but i think i did something terribly wrong. however i can't figure out what i did. i couldn't get the chocolate to melt for a long time..and so when i was done with everything, i put it to chill..but 40 minutes later, and its liquidy still..i could drink it. im not sure what i did wrong. i would probably try this again. also found a piece of egg yolk in the "chocolate soup". this is probably something i did wrong though so no offense meant to you mimi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystina Morrison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Basically this is a wonderful, old-fashioned pudding recipe that's been around for decades. In this recipe an extra teaspoon of vanilla is used. However, the cooking method here is asking for trouble - like cooked bits of eggs to be specific! (If that happens you might still be able to salvage it by sieving it) Do NOT stir the egg yolks into the hot mixture! Rather, stir about a half cup of the hot mixture into the yolks to temper them, then return the egg mixture to the saucepan to finish cooking. Finally, whether you leave this in one serving bowl or pour into individual serving dishes, cover with plastic wrap directly on the surface to prevent a skin from forming. Note: For a vanilla variation eliminate the chocolate and reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
So good! I followed the ingredients part to a T, but used a slightly different process - mix sugar, cornstarch and salt together, add milk and beaten egg yolk, place on heat and as mixture starts to heat up, add choclate. I whisk the whole time (well, pretty much, anyway), bring to a boil over medium heat (takes a few minutes) and boil and stir for one minute. Then remove from heat and add the butter, vanilla, pour immediately into serving dishes as it will set up quickly. This recipe is very similar - other than quantities of cornstarch, milk and egg yolks - to the old Hershey's recipe from the 1920's, and I've never had an issue with the eggs scrambling, texture problems, etc. You could also temper them as others mentioned, but I think this process is easier :) I'd definitely make this one again, Mimi! I'd just use the process I'm more comfortable with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
very easy to make and VERY tasty! I made this on a night that I had planned to make a more complicated dessert but I ran out of time and made this instead. What a happy coinsidence - it was a hit! Like a past reviewer I made this with 6tbsp fry's cocoa and 2 additional tbsp of butter. mmmm would be fabulous with pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
this was an awesome rich chocolate pudding it was awesome... i used Dagoba organic chocolate bar extra dark 87%. it was devine id make it again. ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Metcalfe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Great recipe with a BIG change to the instructions which will save you a heap of trouble: Heat milk and sugar and salt ONLY in a saucepan. In a small measuring cup, whisk egg yolks, an extra 1/4C milk and cornstarch until smooth. When milk mixture comes to a boil, THEN remove it from the heat and slowly pour cornstarch/egg mixture in while whisking well. Return to heat stirring constantly for only one minute. Prepare chocolate prior to that by microwaving in separate bowl and stirring before you whisk it into your pudding. End by stirring in vanilla and butter. We serve it warm at our house. YUMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattiJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States