Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
If you have egg bits: you put the egg in too much at a time and the temperature difference between the eggs and mixture was too high. Temper the eggs first or they will cook instantly when you put them in. Corn starch bits: you added the corn starch too late and the mixture was too hot. Mix the corn starch in thoroughly with the first cup of milk until it's dissolved. Liquid consistency after chilling: you didn't stir it enough while it was cooking. Stir it more until it becomes thick in the pan. Chocolate didn't melt: you cooked it too hot and the chocolate was too thick. Break it into smaller pieces, shave it, or cook the pudding on a lower heat for a longer period of time. Gritty or otherwise imperfect texture: you didn't use a whisk. Use a whisk. Remember that the pudding is only as good as the ingredients you put in it, so if you want it to turn out awesomely, splurge a bit and get some GOOD chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Fantastic Flavor! This recipe was the first homemade pudding recipe I ever made. Good Choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Exquisite! Added 1 1/2 tsp almond extract, and substituted some half & half for part of the milk, though I'm sure it would have been delightful even without. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I used broken up hershey bars (mini bars leftover from halloween- and it's Feb now). Turned out great, hit the spot, great chocolate flavor exactlly what I was craving. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This chocolate pudding is incredible! I'd never made pudding from scratch, and couldn't be happier with the results. Like others suggested, I tempered the eggs with some of the hot milk mixture--no lumps at all. The pudding was so rich and creamy, with an amazing flavor. My daughter said it was like eating a melted brownie. Be sure to use a whisk when stirring, and cook long enough for the mixture to thicken before you add the egg yolks. Also, I only had semi-sweet chocolate, so I reduced the sugar a bit. My kids are already asking when we can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
We all loved this. I served it with cinnamon whipped cream. So yummy and easy. We cooled it completely before we put it into the fridge. I ate one serving room temp and one cold...it doesn't matter which way you eat it, it is just plain yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious, creamy, rich chocolate flavor. I would make again. I don't like things to sweet so next time I will try 3/4 cup of sugar. Excellent recipe Mimi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I don't want to be rude, but if this recipe turns out as anything other than a perfect basic chocolate pudding, it is entirely your fault. If you have egg bits: you put the egg in too much at a time and the temperature difference between the eggs and mixture was too high. Temper the eggs first or they will cook instantly when you put them in. Corn starch bits: you added the corn starch too late and the mixture was too hot. Mix the corn starch in thoroughly with the first cup of milk until it's dissolved. Liquid consistency after chilling: you didn't stir it enough while it was cooking. Stir it more until it becomes thick in the pan. Chocolate didn't melt: you cooked it too hot and the chocolate was too thick. Break it into smaller pieces, shave it, or cook the pudding on a lower heat for a longer period of time. Gritty or otherwise imperfect texture: you didn't use a whisk. Use a whisk. Remember that the pudding is only as good as the ingredients you put in it, so if you want it to turn out awesomely, splurge a bit and get some GOOD chocolate. Furthermore, it's a recipe that will take some tweaking before you get it exactly to your tastes. Don't make it once, trash it, and blame it on the recipe; make it twice, three, four times and change it each time until you get it. This is a pudding worth mastering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
378 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDIA CARIBE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Nice texture but TOO Sweet. Will cut back on sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States