Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
The amount of sugar is arguably to taste, and you can't know until you try it whether your tastes are for sweeter or no. I made this today for my husband, and it's fantastic. If you're unfamiliar with how to make these kinds of custards, then you are naturally going to have some egg bits. It's ok -- strain the mixture at the end, and then chill it. If you allow your mixture to boil BEFORE you add the eggs, then stir it off the heat until it ceases to boil, or you will scramble your eggs every time. I did double or triple the chocolate in this recipe -- had to use a mixture of 1 baker's square and the rest chips, so I guesstimated. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I'm sure if the instructions were more detailed this would have been fabulous! I didn't know that the yolks would cook into little bits if you didn't add them correctly and that you need to use a wisk to get the chocolate to dissolve completely and at the correct temperature. I will surely give it another try. This was a GREAT lesson in cooking for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Fiddletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This pudding is awesome and so easy to make!!! I've made this several times, my kids and their friends always ask for it!!! I have read all the reviews and to the people that called it flop... you did not do it right. The eggs MUST be tempered. The recipe should have said it, but anyone who cooks should know that. It's common sense that if you put eggs into anything hot, they will scramble. Thanks for this one, it's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is AMAZINGGGGGG. I cut the sugar down to 2/3 c and added an extra ounce of chocolate, and it turned out to be a bittersweet masterpiece! I had enough to make one chocolate pudding pie and fill two pudding cups. I had never made homemade pudding before, but now I realize there's no other way to do it! I can't believe I MADE this! It's SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is delicious! Although it was a little runny I think it tastes much, much better than the boxed kind. Instead of 2 oz. of chocolate I put in 5 oz. of semisweet chocolate chips and I think it could use even more chocolate! You definatly need to strain the mixture before chilling, because I found some tiny pieces of cooked egg which is disgusting. Otherwise, completly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I will never by the boxed kind again. This was amazing- just the right fix for someone who wants a yummy chocolate dessert when a cookie will not stop the chocolate craving. Tastes like the batter for a fudge cake- I read the reviews and used the ingredients exactly However I did them in a different order- I melted the chocolate with the butter in a sauce pan and then slowly alternated and added the sugar mixture and 1 1/2 cups of milk. I had reserved 1/2 milk and had mixed that with the eggs yolks and then I slowly added that in while whisking. It thicken up and came out creamy with not lumps or gritty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is about the 10th recipe I have tried and it is by far the best. The only thing i would suggest (as others did) is to temper the egg yolks a little befor mixing them in. Thanks fo a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was a little too sugary sweet for my tastes. I made a second version with 3/4 c sugar and 2 1/2 squares of chocolate and came up with a more pleasing version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca1810

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Absolutely lovely, rich, thick and creamy pudding. I used flour as a substitute for cornstarch (2F:1C), 1/3 more unsweetened chocolate and 1/3 less sugar and it came out wonderful. Definitely keep whisking and scrape with a rubber spatula throughout. I took the advice of tempering the yolks by adding a bit of the warm chocolate mixture and whisking before adding it back to the pot. Perfectly smooth. I'm surprised more people don't make pudding from scratch. It's so simple and the result far exceeds the amount of work put in. X Melissa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States