Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I will never by the boxed kind again. This was amazing- just the right fix for someone who wants a yummy chocolate dessert when a cookie will not stop the chocolate craving. Tastes like the batter for a fudge cake- I read the reviews and used the ingredients exactly However I did them in a different order- I melted the chocolate with the butter in a sauce pan and then slowly alternated and added the sugar mixture and 1 1/2 cups of milk. I had reserved 1/2 milk and had mixed that with the eggs yolks and then I slowly added that in while whisking. It thicken up and came out creamy with not lumps or gritty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is about the 10th recipe I have tried and it is by far the best. The only thing i would suggest (as others did) is to temper the egg yolks a little befor mixing them in. Thanks fo a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was a little too sugary sweet for my tastes. I made a second version with 3/4 c sugar and 2 1/2 squares of chocolate and came up with a more pleasing version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca1810

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Absolutely lovely, rich, thick and creamy pudding. I used flour as a substitute for cornstarch (2F:1C), 1/3 more unsweetened chocolate and 1/3 less sugar and it came out wonderful. Definitely keep whisking and scrape with a rubber spatula throughout. I took the advice of tempering the yolks by adding a bit of the warm chocolate mixture and whisking before adding it back to the pot. Perfectly smooth. I'm surprised more people don't make pudding from scratch. It's so simple and the result far exceeds the amount of work put in. X Melissa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
If you have egg bits: you put the egg in too much at a time and the temperature difference between the eggs and mixture was too high. Temper the eggs first or they will cook instantly when you put them in. Corn starch bits: you added the corn starch too late and the mixture was too hot. Mix the corn starch in thoroughly with the first cup of milk until it's dissolved. Liquid consistency after chilling: you didn't stir it enough while it was cooking. Stir it more until it becomes thick in the pan. Chocolate didn't melt: you cooked it too hot and the chocolate was too thick. Break it into smaller pieces, shave it, or cook the pudding on a lower heat for a longer period of time. Gritty or otherwise imperfect texture: you didn't use a whisk. Use a whisk. Remember that the pudding is only as good as the ingredients you put in it, so if you want it to turn out awesomely, splurge a bit and get some GOOD chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Fantastic Flavor! This recipe was the first homemade pudding recipe I ever made. Good Choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Exquisite! Added 1 1/2 tsp almond extract, and substituted some half & half for part of the milk, though I'm sure it would have been delightful even without. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I used broken up hershey bars (mini bars leftover from halloween- and it's Feb now). Turned out great, hit the spot, great chocolate flavor exactlly what I was craving. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This chocolate pudding is incredible! I'd never made pudding from scratch, and couldn't be happier with the results. Like others suggested, I tempered the eggs with some of the hot milk mixture--no lumps at all. The pudding was so rich and creamy, with an amazing flavor. My daughter said it was like eating a melted brownie. Be sure to use a whisk when stirring, and cook long enough for the mixture to thicken before you add the egg yolks. Also, I only had semi-sweet chocolate, so I reduced the sugar a bit. My kids are already asking when we can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States