Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Quick and simple recipe, yet excellent, rich flavor and velvety texture. No problem with tempering the egg yolks, simply whisked them into the milk before adding it to cornstarch and sugar, whisked constantly until it thickened and bubbled for 1 minute, removed from heat, whisked in chocolate, vanilla and butter and it came out perfect. Anyone who has trouble executing this recipe needs to re-evaluate their skill set or technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Fantastic recipe. So simple yet so delicious. Made it exactly as instructed and it turned out great! It almost tasted like a very soft fudge. This is a keeper for sure. I will be making this for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Fantastic! Tastes like a brownie.....definitely make sure you temper the egg. (Easy!) and chop up the chocolate a little before heating. Great with whipped cream and topped with M&M's. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashippun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Delicious! I will never buy instant pudding again. Easy, creamy and foolproof! Do be sure to temper the eggs though. I also used semi-sweet chocolate chips and cut down on the sugar. Hubby is going to be so happy when he gets home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
a little too ruch, but I really liked it I just had to be careful not to eat as much pudding as I normally do or I got a major head ache from the sugar rush lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Bluemel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Really really liked this!!! I did use 4tbls of flour in place of the cornstarch and 4 tablespoons unsweetened coco powder and 2.5tbls veg oil in place of the chocolate bar. Turned out fantastic! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I am giving this 4 stars because while this is a yummy recipe, I think it needs a few changes. I am going to try what the other reviewer said about tempering the pudding and all that. I also used less sugar. Good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Nice and creamy pudding. I think I'll cut the sugar back by half a cup next time and add an extra chocolate square. It was just a bit too sweet and not quite chocolaty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This would be 5 stars but the directions need to be more thorough for novice cooks. 1. It is easiest to dissolve the cornstarch in the cold milk before adding it to the pan, and then you get no lumps. 2. Don't just dump the yolks into the hot pan. Take 1-2 tablespoons of the hot liquid and add it to the yolks, whisking vigorously. Then add that mixture back to the pan and proceed. That is tempering. 3. If you want a super smooth pudding and ensure no bits of cooked egg at all, just sieve it before chilling it. 4. Place cling wrap right onto the surface of the pudding while chilling or you will get a skin. Follow these steps and you will get an amazing, smooth, yummy pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Fabulous. I used high quality unsweetened cocoa powder (about 1/2 cup) and 2 T veg oil instead of the chocolate. It's really dark and I can't wait to serve it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States