Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Wonderful, absolutely delicious. Perfect flavor, not too sweet and not too bitter. I did have trouble getting it to thicken enough, so I will add a bit more of that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Excellent recipe. I always temper eggs for custard recipes. I also used 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup (my personal preference is less sweet). I didn't have any cornstarch so I used 4 tablespoons of tapioca flour instead. This is a hit. A few fresh raspberries and some whipped cream on top and this was great. This is so much better than the box stuff, and it only took a few extra minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I rarely give a recipe 5 stars. This recipe is just about as awesome as cornstarch pudding can get! It was smooth and creamy, had an intense chocolate flavor and soul satisfying richness. I did make some alterations, but it was nothing that would detract from or significantly add to how great this recipe is. I added about 2 Tbs. of Hershey Dark Cocoa, a pinch of cayenne and used three egg yolks, because that's what I had left over from making something else! I am surprised at how easy it was to mix in the egg yolks. I had never done that before, but had seen the tempering process several times on television. It works!!!! I will be making this pudding again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I've made this twice already and it gets quicker every time! And so creamy and tasty, not bitter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T. We didn't like it, it needed more flavor other than sweetness. I was looking for an old fashioned pudding & it just didn't end up that way for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Great proportions. I have made as is, and substituting with coconut milk and tapioca flour for a dairy and grain free treat. As others have stated be sure to temper the egg yolks. 1 yolk = 1 tablespoon. if you whisk the starch with the sugar before cooking there will be no clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This is a yummy pudding ! I used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the unsweetened chocolate, and added a handful of caramel chips..I adjusted the recipe for 3 instead of 6..so easy and it turned out perfect, do it slow and it is a breeze..I will make this over and over 5 star..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Delicious! Added 1/3 C sugar, based on reviews of being too 'dark' and it was perfect! (we prefer ours warm with a dollop of whipped cream on top!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Excellent for pie filling. Sweetness is perfect if making for kids. If making for adults, I would reduce sugar. Used the suggestions about adding cornstarch to milk. I already knew not to just add the yolks to the pot. I will use this recipe when I need to make a chocolate pie. I topped mine with sweetened whipping cream. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Watson, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I added a half oz of dark chocolate to use it up. Added a tube of instant coffee. Used half cup white and heaping 1/4 cup dark brown sugar and still a little sweet for me. DD said it rocked so it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States