Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
a little too ruch, but I really liked it I just had to be careful not to eat as much pudding as I normally do or I got a major head ache from the sugar rush lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solowookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Really really liked this!!! I did use 4tbls of flour in place of the cornstarch and 4 tablespoons unsweetened coco powder and 2.5tbls veg oil in place of the chocolate bar. Turned out fantastic! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I am giving this 4 stars because while this is a yummy recipe, I think it needs a few changes. I am going to try what the other reviewer said about tempering the pudding and all that. I also used less sugar. Good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Nice and creamy pudding. I think I'll cut the sugar back by half a cup next time and add an extra chocolate square. It was just a bit too sweet and not quite chocolaty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This would be 5 stars but the directions need to be more thorough for novice cooks. 1. It is easiest to dissolve the cornstarch in the cold milk before adding it to the pan, and then you get no lumps. 2. Don't just dump the yolks into the hot pan. Take 1-2 tablespoons of the hot liquid and add it to the yolks, whisking vigorously. Then add that mixture back to the pan and proceed. That is tempering. 3. If you want a super smooth pudding and ensure no bits of cooked egg at all, just sieve it before chilling it. 4. Place cling wrap right onto the surface of the pudding while chilling or you will get a skin. Follow these steps and you will get an amazing, smooth, yummy pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Fabulous. I used high quality unsweetened cocoa powder (about 1/2 cup) and 2 T veg oil instead of the chocolate. It's really dark and I can't wait to serve it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
The amount of sugar is arguably to taste, and you can't know until you try it whether your tastes are for sweeter or no. I made this today for my husband, and it's fantastic. If you're unfamiliar with how to make these kinds of custards, then you are naturally going to have some egg bits. It's ok -- strain the mixture at the end, and then chill it. If you allow your mixture to boil BEFORE you add the eggs, then stir it off the heat until it ceases to boil, or you will scramble your eggs every time. I did double or triple the chocolate in this recipe -- had to use a mixture of 1 baker's square and the rest chips, so I guesstimated. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I'm sure if the instructions were more detailed this would have been fabulous! I didn't know that the yolks would cook into little bits if you didn't add them correctly and that you need to use a wisk to get the chocolate to dissolve completely and at the correct temperature. I will surely give it another try. This was a GREAT lesson in cooking for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Fiddletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This pudding is awesome and so easy to make!!! I've made this several times, my kids and their friends always ask for it!!! I have read all the reviews and to the people that called it flop... you did not do it right. The eggs MUST be tempered. The recipe should have said it, but anyone who cooks should know that. It's common sense that if you put eggs into anything hot, they will scramble. Thanks for this one, it's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is AMAZINGGGGGG. I cut the sugar down to 2/3 c and added an extra ounce of chocolate, and it turned out to be a bittersweet masterpiece! I had enough to make one chocolate pudding pie and fill two pudding cups. I had never made homemade pudding before, but now I realize there's no other way to do it! I can't believe I MADE this! It's SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States