Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2000
This recipe took quite awhile to prepare as the time it took to come to a boil was about 30 minutes. This is 30 min. of constant stirring. The pie was not as firm as I like and it was a little too bitter. I may try it again with less cocoa in it. The kids didn't care for it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
I finally found a chocolate cream pie recipe that uses cocoa instead of baker's chocolate! This is a delicious pie. I was concerned after reading another review of this recipe, but I tried it anyway and am glad I did. It only took 15 minutes to cook on my stove, set up beautifully, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Excellant recipe! My family loved it! Since it was Thanksgiving I modified the recipe using 2 cups cream and 1 cup skim milk. Will definately make again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Made this and it was very yummy. I added one more tbls. of cornstarch and it was perfect. Thank You for this treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
It did take some time to cook the pudding but I thought it was the best flavored I have ever made. My family loved it and ate it until it was gone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Absolutely the smoothest choc. pie I've ever made. I used homemade whipped cream topping and it really made it great. So simple I will never make it another way. Perfect chocolate flavor also. All my dinner guests raved about it - it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Yummy! Very rich and creamy - I used a graham cracker crust and let folks put their own whipped cream as they went. A big hit - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Just made this pie today and my family loved it.I tried it out on my chocolate expert,my 15yr. old son.I didn't have any cornstarch so I used plain flour.This is an easy recipe.Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
My family loved this recipe. I was even told that it was better than my great-grandmothers. Which is quite a compliment. I followed the directions just as they say and I wouldn't change a thing. My only suggestion would be to use homemade whipped topping. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
this has a wonderful flavor - though the first time i tried it, it wouldn't set and i just ended up with a chocolate pudding. The second time i tried it, i increased it to 4 tablespoons of corn starch and that solved the problem. I don't know if that's an altitude adjustment (i live over a mile above sea level) or if it's just a general improvement The other adjustment i would recommend makes the pie filling absolutely heavenly. I reduced the amount of milk to 2 3/4 cups and add 1/4 cup of Bailey's Irish Cream. That made this pie the best cream pie i have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States