Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Followed the recipe, except used 4 Tbsp cornstarch (as many have suggested) + Dark unsweetened cocoa (instead of regular cocoa) + crushed Oreo crust instead of a pre-baked crust. Used the dark cocoa for more chocolate flavor. The final filling texture was nice and creamy, but there was surprisingly little chocolate flavor to the filling. The Oreo crust had far more chocolate flavor than the filling. Tasted the filling alone, and there was a mild chocolate flavor. Will try a recipe that uses chocolate morsels instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
just finish makin pie licked the spoon yum yum now cant wait to eat the pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Made this one weekend to top off a dinner and everyone enjoyed it. The only thing I would add is for those who like meringue instead of cool whip. Otherwise, can't beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This pie is sooooo good!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I've made many different choc cream pies and this is the best. It is NOT fudge or cakey or thick. It is the perfect concictency and perfect chocolate ratio; not to chocolate not to mild flavor. I did add the additional tbs of cornstarch and it was a beautiful outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephi419

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
First chocolate cream pie I have ever made. I took to monthly lunch in town. First pie to go!! Made it just like the recipe, very easy to make, I used a homemade bake piecrust and decorated with pastry bag filled with whipped topping. Had to make another for hubby!! He loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
First chocolate cream pie I've ever made, and it turned out beautifully! I used 4 Tbsp of cornstarch as suggested, and it was the perfect consistency. This one I will definitely be making over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Did 4 TB of cornstarch, thickened up just fine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I used the 3 Tablespoons of cornstarch that the recipe calls for and the pie did not set at all. It was still delicious, but it was more like pudding in a pie shell. Maybe it would have set if I had used 4-5 Tablespoons cornstarch like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
My 16 yr old son found this recipe and made it for his cooking class. Turned out great and now I make it for holiday gatherings. I make my own crust, a no-roll crust that's easy. Someone always asks me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States