Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Outstanding! I read a lot of the reviews and took the following advice... 4 egg yolks, 4 tablespoons of corn starch and replaced 1/4 C of the milk (I used 2C half-n-half and 3/4 C of 2% milk) with Baileys Irish Cream. The pie set up perfectly. I used an Oreo crust and made my own whipped cream. Taking the 10 minutes to do it is absolutely worth it. This was by far the most decadent, rich and amazing chocolate pie I have ever had. A small slice goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This pie is amazing. I followed recipe but added the extra Tbl. of corn starch. I made a crust with crushed vanilla wafers and topped it with homemade whipped cream and mini chocolate chips. Very tasty and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
i just added liquid coffee creamer in place if milk.. really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna Beth Franks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
nice traditional southern recipe. I did add one egg yolk to get the mix correct. The coffee added by the arlier repondant was a great idea to make a mocha pie, but if you really want the chocolate flavor to Burst use just a small pinch of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This recipe will not set up as is. I tried this based on the star rating and did not read the reviews. Most people changed the amount of cornstarch, I will try that next time. Flavor was great, the pie just did not set
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have been making chocolate cream pies for many years because they are my husband's favorite. This was the best chocolate cream pie I have ever made, hands down. Rich chocolate flavor. Topped it with fresh made whipped cream. It was to die for. I used 2 whole eggs instead of the 3 egg yolks. Did not effect the taste or consistency. This recipe will replace all previous recipes I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made this recipe with the addition of 1 more TBS. cornstarch like some of the others stated. Was a bit soft. Maybe next time I will boil a little bit longer like someone else stated. Anyway, the taste was excellent and I will definitely make it again. Thumbs-Up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very disappointed. made this pie 4 hours ago and was getting ready to take it to my friend who is recovering and the pie didn't set. as I read the reviews now I see that almost everyone altered the recipe so it worked. although the flavor is wonderful, it's not pie....it's pudding with pie crust. Betty Crocker here I come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Made this by request of the birthday girl; everyone agreed it was wonderful. Based on reviews here, I substituted 1 cup of heavy cream for 1 cup of milk and used 4 T of cornstarch instead of 3. The texture was silky, firm but not too firm, heavenly rich, and the flavor was decidedly (and delightfully) cocoa-like. I stabilized the whipped cream (I don't use Cool Whip-type toppings if I can avoid them) with 1 tsp of unflavored gelatin and topped that with shaved chocolate curls. Very pretty and quite decadent. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Thank you Cecil for sharing your grandmother's recipe. I'm sure it would make her proud to know so many people are making & enjoying this fabulous pie! I made this & followed the recipe except I did use 4 tbsp corn starch and 4 egg yolks instead of 3 because a lot of folks on here recommended it. Came out great, just let it boil a couple minutes. I topped it with merengue, yeah don't put that whipped oil on this. It's not too sweet or too chocolatey like some have said, it's really really good. I made it for a get together with friends & they said it was the best they ever had. They're in their fifties & have tried plenty of pies plus they tell it like it is lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States