Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Peter Schreyer
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I love the recipe and the result was great! The only modification I made was I substituted half and half for the milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Schreyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
As other reviewers have noted, I used 4 egg yolks and 4 heaping TB of corn starch + some. I added some extra cocoa for laughs, too :) I forgot to add the butter at the end, but it didn't seem to matter...I used 1 cup of half and half to begin with along with 2 and 2/3 c milk so I guess that's why. I made my own graham cracker crust using the Graham Cracker Crust I here on Allrecipes. I cooked it a long time. If this pie isn't solidifying for you, you didn't cook it long enough. It was a very very thick pudding texture while still hot in the pot, so I know it'd be solid enough when it cooled and stiffened. I used the 4 leftover egg whites to top this with swiss meringue. I let the pie cool as much as my time would allow and topped the pie, then set it in a hot toaster oven for just a few scant minutes. It was a perfect topping for this pie! My secret ingredient for this was half a Tahitian vanilla bean that I left in there to cook along with the rest of it instead of using extract. The reviews I got were so deliriously happy they are not appropriate for a family forum...lol. I've already had 2 people tell me to make this again. Great recipe, so simple if you don't have a lot of time to fuss. Will make again very soon so my mom and I can have a pie all to ourselves. Thank you Cecil and Allrecipes, you are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
More like a fudge pie, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I added an extra tbsp. of corn starch as others suggested. The pie was good but way too sweet for me. My husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tabitha Church
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was easy to throw together and thickened up quicker than I thought it would. I wanted it really thick and rich, so I followed the advice of reviewers and added an extra tbsp of cornstarch. I also threw in a tbsp of PB. My 2 yr old son said we should add marshmallows, which I thought might be a great idea, but instead I toasted some and used them as the topping (with a graham cracker crust!). When chilled, it didn't set up as stiffly as I expected (more like pudding) but the flavour was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This recipe was a bit to rich/sweet for my liking and I found the texture to be quite heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is a great recipe. The first time I tried it the family loved it. It became a favorite. I tried the last one in the crumbled oreo crust and our chocolate lover couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan Thorpe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I used a little extra cornstarch and a bit less sugar. It was fabulous! When using cornstarch, NEVER lick the spoon and return to the mixture - salvia causes cornstarch to not set up! Just a reminder for the cooks since this is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Just made this and the flavor is fantastic! I did add an additional T of cornstarch, cut the sugar to 1 cup and used whole milk. While I prewarmed two cups of milk in the microwave, I whisked all the other ingredients together really well in a large bowl. I added the prewarmed milk whisking well. I then put it in the microwave for 3:30 minutes, whisked well, another 3:30 minutes, whisked well, and 3:00 minutes whisking well and done! It is the perfect texture and flavor for a chocolate cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Really great recipe. I also made some of the above modifications (four tablespoons of cornstarch, an extra egg yoke, 2 cups of cream, one cup of milk) but I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup which brings out the chocolate flavor (I also use organic cocoa) more to my taste. You also must whip fresh cream with a touch of vanilla and pipe it on the cooled pie, top with chocolate curls for a deluxe effect that will impress everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States