Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This pie was just so good. It was barely more work than a boxed pudding mix. The taste was so, so much better! I followed other reviewers' advice and used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch. It turned out perfectly. I made it in the homemade graham crust from this website, and I made fresh stabilized whipped cream to go on top. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was delicious!!! I did use 4 egg yolks, 4 Tbsp. corn starch, and decreased milk to 2 3/4 cups as many suggested. It was the perfect firm consistency for pie. If you want this just to eat as pudding I could guess 3 Tbsp. cornstarch would be fine and you could probably use all 3 cups of milk. I can't believe several people have said that this tastes the same as boxed pudding. I've never had any kind of boxed pudding mix taste this delicious and rich. This is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerDawn
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Simply the most amazing and easy to make pie, ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Wonderful pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe is great. Works very well, and is delightful. Ok, if their are any Diabetics that would like to enjoy this or other cream pies, check this out. First off, I add 3-4 heaping tbs of corn starch. 2nd, if you dont want chocolate, simply dont add it. Try banana flavoring (2-3 tbs) and then add unsweetened fine coconut in the mix(qrtr cup). Follow all the instructions, but use splenda. When done, put mixture in cold steel bowl, and cover with saran wrap and poke a few holes in it. Make a stable whipped cream (gelatin, and corn starch) and pipe with a star tip till pie is covered. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jay west

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I followed the receipt as written. The taste was slightly bitter to my taste. Perhaps I just like a smoother silkier pie?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Made A double batch of this today and wow, turned out amazing. Will make this from now on. I added an extra heaping spoon of corn starch and it turned out nice and thick, easy to slice up and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Levi Power

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is very good but does need more cornstarch, it doesn't get thick enough. The flavor is just like my Mom used to make. But if it doesn't get thick enough makes a great pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peter Schreyer
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I love the recipe and the result was great! The only modification I made was I substituted half and half for the milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Schreyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
As other reviewers have noted, I used 4 egg yolks and 4 heaping TB of corn starch + some. I added some extra cocoa for laughs, too :) I forgot to add the butter at the end, but it didn't seem to matter...I used 1 cup of half and half to begin with along with 2 and 2/3 c milk so I guess that's why. I made my own graham cracker crust using the Graham Cracker Crust I here on Allrecipes. I cooked it a long time. If this pie isn't solidifying for you, you didn't cook it long enough. It was a very very thick pudding texture while still hot in the pot, so I know it'd be solid enough when it cooled and stiffened. I used the 4 leftover egg whites to top this with swiss meringue. I let the pie cool as much as my time would allow and topped the pie, then set it in a hot toaster oven for just a few scant minutes. It was a perfect topping for this pie! My secret ingredient for this was half a Tahitian vanilla bean that I left in there to cook along with the rest of it instead of using extract. The reviews I got were so deliriously happy they are not appropriate for a family forum...lol. I've already had 2 people tell me to make this again. Great recipe, so simple if you don't have a lot of time to fuss. Will make again very soon so my mom and I can have a pie all to ourselves. Thank you Cecil and Allrecipes, you are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States