Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used 1 cup sugar, plenty sweet! Making your own lightly sweetened whip topping is a must, cool whip is too sweet. I added a quarter teaspoon almond extract and used a homemade oreo cookie crust. So good!! This will be my go to recipe forever. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made this exactly as the recipe states, my husband said it was the best chocolate cream pie he's ever had, and I agree. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I was supposed to make this pie for my boyfriends company party. I had to make it twice because I didn't read the other reviews. The flavor was good but it was a runny mess. The 2nd pie is currently cooling. I hope it's not running. I'm NOT making it a third time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was excellent. Great texture, looked nice after it was sliced. I made my own whipped cream for it, though. Glad I did, too. It would have been a shame to top this with whipped oil. I also added another tablespoon of cocoa (I like darker chocolate). For those of you who have a hard time with the boiling step of the recipe: start at medium low, let it come up to heat a bit. Keep stirring, then bump the heat to medium for a couple more minutes. Keep stirring (don't want it to burn). Then medium-high until it boils and comes together. Just keep stirring. That's basically how I make my bechamel come together without waiting 600 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Love this pie, easy to make and delicious. I did use 4tbsp of cornstarch and 4 egg yolks. It's perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I used 4 heaping T. cornstarch instead of 3. I cut the milk to approx 2 3/4c. The mixing was a royal pain with the sugar and egg yolks. I could not get it to cream, just lumps so I warmed up 1/4c. of the milk (room temp in microwave) & beat that in with the sugar & yolks & got the smoothest consistency. Then added the other ingredients. It was luscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was gone in no time. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Per the suggestion of others, used 4 tbls cornstarch. Other than that followed exactly. The filling was smooth, delicious, and the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This has got to be one of the easiest pies around. Based on other reviews I used 4 T Cornstarch and because I don't have whole milk on hand I substituted with 2C 2% and and 1C Half and Half. I also added a shot of espresso. Total time to boil once in the pan was less than 15 minutes. Wonderful flavor, smooth texture, everything you would expect. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
We loved this pie just the way the recipe called for did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States