Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I've made many different choc cream pies and this is the best. It is NOT fudge or cakey or thick. It is the perfect concictency and perfect chocolate ratio; not to chocolate not to mild flavor. I did add the additional tbs of cornstarch and it was a beautiful outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephi419

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
First chocolate cream pie I have ever made. I took to monthly lunch in town. First pie to go!! Made it just like the recipe, very easy to make, I used a homemade bake piecrust and decorated with pastry bag filled with whipped topping. Had to make another for hubby!! He loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
First chocolate cream pie I've ever made, and it turned out beautifully! I used 4 Tbsp of cornstarch as suggested, and it was the perfect consistency. This one I will definitely be making over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Did 4 TB of cornstarch, thickened up just fine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I used the 3 Tablespoons of cornstarch that the recipe calls for and the pie did not set at all. It was still delicious, but it was more like pudding in a pie shell. Maybe it would have set if I had used 4-5 Tablespoons cornstarch like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
My 16 yr old son found this recipe and made it for his cooking class. Turned out great and now I make it for holiday gatherings. I make my own crust, a no-roll crust that's easy. Someone always asks me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Just made this to take to grandma's, yum! I added a teaspoon of instant coffee to intensify the chocolate but otherwise followed exactly and had no problem with it setting. My two little girls literally licked the pot clean! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I added an extra tablespoon of vanilla, and it turned out absolutely wonderful! Next time, I will add a cup of cream in place of milk, but even as it is, I think it is rich and sweet and it set perfectly. I made mini pie shells and brought these into my class and they LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This pie is the BEST chocolate pie I have ever made and tasted! I followed other reviewers advice, and I used 4 yolks and 4 heaping Tbs of cornstarch, and also only used 2 3/4 cup milk (I used 2%). It was so chocolatey, thick and sweet. My family loved it! And it never got watery like other homemade pudding pie recipes I've made. This is definitely my go to chocolate pie recipe! Thanks so much Cecil for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Delish! This recipe stands alone, or is a great base for add-ins; coconut, bananas, etc. Make sure you let this get to a good boil in order for it to set properly, the egg yolks must cook! This one is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States