Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
EXCELLENT, Made as is but with 4 tbs of Cornstarch instead of 3 as reviewers suggested..PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrszink02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This was a big hit at my early Thanksgiving dinner this year. Used the extra yoke and cornstarch and some 1/2 n 1/2 like recommended. I'm sure it would have been too runny without it. I also used the special dark cocoa but would probably use half reg next time as it was extrmemely dark but ohhhhhhh soooo good. You could see it on everyone's face as they took their first bite. I will never use a boxed pudding again. My only gripe is that the recipe said to use frozen whipped topping. This pie rates the real thing for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
So easy, no egg tempering or nothing! "Winning"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Super easy to make but very rich. Like, really rich. Not a personal favourite, but nice and others certainly love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Very good pie. I used 1 tsp strong coff33 and the 4 T of cornstarch. Used 2 C 1/2/ and 1/2 & 1 C whole milk. I am no longer willing to "stir constantly until thickened" on a burner for any recipe. I use the microwave in short bursts and whisk well about every minute after the first 3 minutes until it's the desired thickness. Took about 5 minutes total in a high power microwave. I also preheated the milk for about 3 minutes on 70% power to make it mix well before I added it to the egg/sugar/cornstarch mixture. Used a high grade cocoa (Penzey's) and it was silky and nicely chocolately. Set up easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
The flavor was there, but it wouldn't set up! I even added 4 tablespoons of cornstarch instead of 3. Maybe it was just me, but it just didn't work out. very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Tastey BUT it didn't set for me either and I live East Coast coastline, so altitude shouldn't be the problem. Next time I will take Jay's advice and add another tablespoon of cornstarch, because mine came out soupy. I will update my review after the next time I try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
added starbucks instant coffee single -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe called for and it came out as a nice pudding... I even added an additional tbsp. of cornstarch mixed with just a tad of milk and it still didn't thicken... I'll try it again but next time I'll use more corn starch and an extra egg yolk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
We put the extra pie filling in small bowls and served them to the people who didn't want the pie crust. Decided we like this better as a choclate pudding recipe than a cream pie. Took others advice to up cornstarch to 4T and had no problem with it setting up. Also took others advice on swaping some of the milk w/Mint Baileys. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States