Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I added an extra tbsp. of corn starch as others suggested. The pie was good but way too sweet for me. My husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tabitha Church
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was easy to throw together and thickened up quicker than I thought it would. I wanted it really thick and rich, so I followed the advice of reviewers and added an extra tbsp of cornstarch. I also threw in a tbsp of PB. My 2 yr old son said we should add marshmallows, which I thought might be a great idea, but instead I toasted some and used them as the topping (with a graham cracker crust!). When chilled, it didn't set up as stiffly as I expected (more like pudding) but the flavour was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This recipe was a bit to rich/sweet for my liking and I found the texture to be quite heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is a great recipe. The first time I tried it the family loved it. It became a favorite. I tried the last one in the crumbled oreo crust and our chocolate lover couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan Thorpe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I used a little extra cornstarch and a bit less sugar. It was fabulous! When using cornstarch, NEVER lick the spoon and return to the mixture - salvia causes cornstarch to not set up! Just a reminder for the cooks since this is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Just made this and the flavor is fantastic! I did add an additional T of cornstarch, cut the sugar to 1 cup and used whole milk. While I prewarmed two cups of milk in the microwave, I whisked all the other ingredients together really well in a large bowl. I added the prewarmed milk whisking well. I then put it in the microwave for 3:30 minutes, whisked well, another 3:30 minutes, whisked well, and 3:00 minutes whisking well and done! It is the perfect texture and flavor for a chocolate cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Really great recipe. I also made some of the above modifications (four tablespoons of cornstarch, an extra egg yoke, 2 cups of cream, one cup of milk) but I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup which brings out the chocolate flavor (I also use organic cocoa) more to my taste. You also must whip fresh cream with a touch of vanilla and pipe it on the cooled pie, top with chocolate curls for a deluxe effect that will impress everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made this following others suggestions of an extra T of cornstarch, and extra yolk, and a mix of cream and milk, and it was a runny mess. The flavor wasn't terrible, but it wasn't spectacular either. Will not make this again! I don't know why it didn't set up. It must need tons more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made it the evening before and it still wasn't set the next day. The filling is very liquid-y. Extra cornstarch needed. Will try again with this addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Outstanding! I read a lot of the reviews and took the following advice... 4 egg yolks, 4 tablespoons of corn starch and replaced 1/4 C of the milk (I used 2C half-n-half and 3/4 C of 2% milk) with Baileys Irish Cream. The pie set up perfectly. I used an Oreo crust and made my own whipped cream. Taking the 10 minutes to do it is absolutely worth it. This was by far the most decadent, rich and amazing chocolate pie I have ever had. A small slice goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States