Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Did not set - after 35 minutes of constant stirring. If I try this again, I'll increase the cornstarch to 4 tablespoons. I ended up with delicious pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful! In fact, I didn't even end up taking it to Thanksgiving at my parents, because we sliced into it the night before. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
As others did, I added an egg yolk, another T of cornstarch. I also used 1 cups cream and 2 cups milk. Instead of whipped topping, I made heavy whipping cream and stabilized it with dissolved gelatin and cornstarch. Then I sprinkled chocolate shavings on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Well, I made my very first chocolate cream pie! Patting myself on the back! It turned out AMAZING! This recipe is simple and so delicious! Thankfully I read the reviews and I too upped the amount of cornstarch. It set perfect! My hubby likes a stronger chocolate taste, so next time I will increase the cocoa! Thanks for all the other reviews, they are so helpful, especially when trying a recipe for the first time! I can't stop smiling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
this was an awesome recipe and it was really delicious, and it set pretty well bu my mom was impatient and cut it too early, it wasn't fully set yet so it was a little runny, I used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch like pretty much everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
So yummy! Just the right flavor! I took the advice of other reviewers and used 4 tbsp cornstarch and 4 egg yolks ... it turned out perfect! I used a deep dish pie crust and I still had a lot of filling left over (a cereal bowl full!). Next time I'll get some mini pie crusts to use up the leftover filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I tried this recipe with real whipped cream on top instead of the whipped "topping" and it was wonderful! I made this pie for a family get together and the pie pan was practically licked clean :.) It wasn't quite as thick as I would have liked so I think next time I will try the suggestions another reviewer posted and see how it turns out. Yes, this takes a little while to make but the result is SO worth it! If you're looking for something that only takes a few minutes to throw together I suggest buying Jello pudding and using that. If you want a truly fantastic Chocolate Cream Pie try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This recipe made enough filling for two pies. The chocolate was very rich, but there wasn't really anything exciting about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Followed the recipe, except used 4 Tbsp cornstarch (as many have suggested) + Dark unsweetened cocoa (instead of regular cocoa) + crushed Oreo crust instead of a pre-baked crust. Used the dark cocoa for more chocolate flavor. The final filling texture was nice and creamy, but there was surprisingly little chocolate flavor to the filling. The Oreo crust had far more chocolate flavor than the filling. Tasted the filling alone, and there was a mild chocolate flavor. Will try a recipe that uses chocolate morsels instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
just finish makin pie licked the spoon yum yum now cant wait to eat the pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States