Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
I made this and used the Rodelle's cocoa - it tasted like a gourmet pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Hertel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
I love this simple recipe for three reasons: it calls for unsweetened cocoa instead of baking chocolate; there's no pouring the hot ingredients into beaten eggs (I do all mixing in the saucepan); and the taste is perfect. I've made this too many times to count. My family demands this pie at Thanksgiving and birthdays. NOTE: Do increase the corn starch a little. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Perfect every time! I sometimes make this extra chocolatey by using an oreo cookie-based crust. One thing I did differently though, is I added 4 tbsps cornstarch instead of 3. Helps keep the filling nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rotiki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
After reading a bunch of the reviews, I used 4 heaping Tbs of cornstarch and substituted out 1 cup of milk for 1 cup of heavy cream. It was a very rich and delicious dessert. I made 3 pies and this one went first! For an easier dessert I would make a graham cracker crust next time. Delicious! This doesn't start to thicken until it starts to boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I was surprised at how good the chocolate ended up tasting! However, the crust was like, "forget about it", so I pretty much ended up with chocolate pudding---very delectable chocolate pudding nonetheless. I was also curious as to why when I cut a piece, a water-y substance occurred...very dice-y, indeed. ;) Still delicious, and I'll probably end up making it again, along with unintentionally eating half the pie by myself, out of the tin, over the sink. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sierra Henthorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Did not set up!! Not very happy with this one- Instead of a chocolate cream pie for my husbands bday, the kids ate it as pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
The flavor was wonderful without being too sweet. I substituted 1 cup of whipping cream for 1 of the cups of milk which made very creamy tasting. I had increased the corn starch to 3 tbl but still to loose will try 4 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
For a lower sugar option, I used only 1/2 C sugar and added 3 drops liquid stevia. I also substituted 1 C whipping cream for 1 C milk. Came out perfect, and plenty sweet! :) (The trick with stevia is to substitute only part of the sugar with stevia, to prevent the weird stevia taste.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
badly written for those not too experienced, like me. when a recipe says to stir constantly until boiling and remove from heat, that's what I do. it did seem thin, but this recipe had different ingredients so I thought that it would set up, no such luck. the other recipe that I have used says to bring to boil and stir for at least 8 minutes, WHICH IS WHAT THIS SHOULD SAY !!!! OR AT LEAST UNTIL THICK !!! all I had was chocolate soup that did not even taste good and a ruined pie crust. I did add and extra teaspoon of corn starch as other reviewers had done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Layne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
It turned out pretty good. I did use 4 tbs of cornstarch, which I saw that a lot of people did. Will make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States