Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is a great recipe. The first time I tried it the family loved it. It became a favorite. I tried the last one in the crumbled oreo crust and our chocolate lover couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan Thorpe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is a very close replica of the Hershey's recipe on their website. The only difference is it uses cocoa powder instead of an unsweetened chocolate bar, and is missing the flour, which others have also noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I used a little extra cornstarch and a bit less sugar. It was fabulous! When using cornstarch, NEVER lick the spoon and return to the mixture - salvia causes cornstarch to not set up! Just a reminder for the cooks since this is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Just made this and the flavor is fantastic! I did add an additional T of cornstarch, cut the sugar to 1 cup and used whole milk. While I prewarmed two cups of milk in the microwave, I whisked all the other ingredients together really well in a large bowl. I added the prewarmed milk whisking well. I then put it in the microwave for 3:30 minutes, whisked well, another 3:30 minutes, whisked well, and 3:00 minutes whisking well and done! It is the perfect texture and flavor for a chocolate cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Really great recipe. I also made some of the above modifications (four tablespoons of cornstarch, an extra egg yoke, 2 cups of cream, one cup of milk) but I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup which brings out the chocolate flavor (I also use organic cocoa) more to my taste. You also must whip fresh cream with a touch of vanilla and pipe it on the cooled pie, top with chocolate curls for a deluxe effect that will impress everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made this following others suggestions of an extra T of cornstarch, and extra yolk, and a mix of cream and milk, and it was a runny mess. The flavor wasn't terrible, but it wasn't spectacular either. Will not make this again! I don't know why it didn't set up. It must need tons more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made it the evening before and it still wasn't set the next day. The filling is very liquid-y. Extra cornstarch needed. Will try again with this addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Outstanding! I read a lot of the reviews and took the following advice... 4 egg yolks, 4 tablespoons of corn starch and replaced 1/4 C of the milk (I used 2C half-n-half and 3/4 C of 2% milk) with Baileys Irish Cream. The pie set up perfectly. I used an Oreo crust and made my own whipped cream. Taking the 10 minutes to do it is absolutely worth it. This was by far the most decadent, rich and amazing chocolate pie I have ever had. A small slice goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This pie is amazing. I followed recipe but added the extra Tbl. of corn starch. I made a crust with crushed vanilla wafers and topped it with homemade whipped cream and mini chocolate chips. Very tasty and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
i just added liquid coffee creamer in place if milk.. really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States