Chocolate Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This was a very good pie. However, this is a very sweet, dark chocoate pie. Not a creamy, milk chocolate flavor. I like the milk chocolate flavor better, as do most people I know. This is great if you are a dark, bitter-sweet chocolate lover. I probably won't make this again for myself or my husband (will just use pie filling for a creamier chocolate). However, my mother-in-law loved it. She likes the dark chocoate and said it tasted just like her mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This recipe was very good. I added an extra 1 oz square of chocolate and 2 tablespoons of almond extract and it came out heavenly. I think next time I'll add 1/2 cream and 1/2 milk to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
This was wonderful-I served it to some friends who are chocolate lovers who declared it was the best pie they had ever eaten. I used a chocolate cookie crust and topped it with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Delicious!! Very creamy and chocolatey. Family loved this pie. I had found another recipe that called for 8 oz. of chopped bittersweet chocolate...but hesitated as this recipe called for only 2 oz. of unsweetened. Glad I followed this recipe...the 2 oz. was the perfect amount of chocolate...could only imagine what it would be like with 8!! The custard thickened up with no problem...chilled in a baked pie shell and topped with whipped cream and shaved hershey kisses (all I had )..will make this again! Thanks for a fabulous pie Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Absolutely delicious pie!! I have made it many times and want to thank you for sharing the recipe. Tastes just like the old fashioned ones my Mom-in-Law made. Unfortunately, Mom never wrote much down, so I am stuck with lots of ingredient lists and not many instructions! Like anything else the quality of the ingredients determines the end results. I have made this pie with Ghiardelli Dark Bars, Valhrona and Lindt 83% Dark and Scharffenburger. Both individually and in varying amounts of each mixed. All with excellent results. They cost a bit more, but the results are worth it. I sometimes cut down on the sugar just a smidgen-1 tablespoon-- depending on what kind of chocolate I am using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Best Chocolate Pie I've had! It has been a hit with friends and family. The best part is that it is really easy to make for those "inexperienced pie makers".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
A wonderful pie recipe that all of my friends and family enjoyed very much! Use a graham cracker crust just to top off that delicious dessert flavor. Pile high with Reddi-Whip for a straight-from-the-bakery look. No one believed that I made this pie myself; they accused me of ordering it from a gourmet restaurant. It's THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I was disappointed in this pie. Mine came out too bitter, and had the taste and texture of fudge, not a cream pie. Sorry, but will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Well, I must confess I am the world's WORST baker. Seriously, even if I am cooking ready made cookie dough or a cake from the box, somehow I find a way to mess it up. That said, I was so delighted to find dessert recipe that turned out great, no matter how I butchered it. I did add an extra square of chocolate. I mean, what's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Added ~1/4 tsp salt. Delicious. I made it in the microwave w/no problems. This is a dense chocolate - I suppose if you wanted a lighter pie you could fold stiffly whipped cream w/some gelatine into the chocolate before pouring into the crust, but I like the whipped cream on top. Fudge-y chocolate, crisp crust, and the whipped cream...mmmmm! I've made it 2x already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States