Chocolate Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I made this recipe twice. The first one looked really nice, but I underbaked the pie shell so it was a little off. The filling though was tasty, set up pretty nice. The second one I overbaked the crust so once again it was a little off, but the filling was just as good. It was served with homemade whipped cream both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDGET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This pie was so delicious and easy! Not too heavy, and not too sweet! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This pie was good, but extremely rich. I recommend making this a day in advance as it tasted much better after being refrigerated for at least 12 hours. Also, instead of a traditional pie crust I'm going to try an Oreo cookie crust nest time. For a little extra zip, add banana slices to the top of the pie and homemade whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I thought this was a very good recipe. I served it at a recent family gathering and got nothing but praise. Instead of topping it with whipped topping, I made stabilized whipped cream flavored with Kahlua. That was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I suggest using a graham cracker crust and use the egg white for mirangue (sp sorry)...very good. Mirangue is simple, beat whites til foamy then add, slowley 6 tbs of sugar until stiff. Put on top of pie and back (in pre heated 350 oven until mirangue is brown)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
So delicious and easy to make. This is the second one I've made this week because the first one that I made for Christmas day was gone before I had any! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Don't change a thing. Follow this recipe to the letter. This pie is the BEST ccp I've ever made and tasted. Most people I serve this to say, "Oh, I thought chocolate cream pie was made with instant pudding." Instant pudding? YUCK! This pie is a labor of love and I am so happy to have found it. It is rich and creamy and best served the next day. I also put a sheet of plastic wrap over the hot pie to prevent "skin" on the top. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe. I've used it about six times. The only change I make it to actually use Semi-sweet chocolate chips (Preferably Ghirardelli chocolate chips!!) instead of unsweetened chocolate. This adds a creamier lighter taste to the pie so that it's not SOOO rich like with the unsweetened chocolate. Overall though, it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Better than my grandmothers, in a different way. It's very runny, I'd cut the liquid a little or possibly add a thickener like flour or corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Yum!!! I made this for a Thanksgiving feast and fortunately everyone was too full to eat most of it, so I took the nearly whole pie back home and have been enjoying it ever since. I made this with the Basic Flakey Pie Crust and it's delicious. Really easy to make, just keep stirring!!! My arm was killing me from stirring but it was worth it. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States