Chocolate Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Tastes good, but the day after I tried the recipe, the pie started «melting» ... kind of. I consider myself a good cook and I bake quite often, maybe I made a mistake or something, I don't know, however, the filling got set and all, but started melting the day after... has this happened to somedoby else??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I was looking for a recipe with a bit less sugar in it, and this one is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I am an excellent baker. I know my way around baking pies, cookies, cakes, etc. However after I followed this recipe to the letter, the pie absolutely never set. I tried chilling it overnight and then I tried to freeze it and it really lost the consistency. It was a shame because the crust was absolutely scratched baked awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Awesome! I turned the heat a little higher than medium to speed up the melting process, used a pre-made graham cracker crust, and topped with cool whip after the chocolate had set. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAMAPRIL99
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Fantastic, Quick, and Impressive!! This pie fit the bill for me! It is smooth and silky. I of course wanted a pie at 7pm at night and went in search of a dessert to match the ingredients I had on hand. This was almost perfect. I did have to use self rising flour and chocolate chips, but the result was amazing. I used a graham cracker crust which I think really made it almost like smores and I whipped up fresh whipped cream and spread it atop the entire pie! I finished with grated chocolate on top and WOW my husband and I both savored every bite. I put it in the freezer to "chill" for 2 hours, since of course I was not going to bed without a slice. But after I cut it I put it in the fridge to finish chilling and cannot wait for dessert tonight. I put it in my favorites cook book and I will make it again. Next time with the correct flour and chocolate and see how that works out! But I will stick to the graham cracker crust, I think the regular crust would not be as good as the buttery graham cracker crust! Thanks Debbie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAMAPRIL99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This worked great for me. I added some dark cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Perfect chocolate custard pie recipe. I suspect that those reviewers who had texture issues had trouble with bringing the custard together. You must temper the eggs by slowly adding hot chocolate mixture while beating rapidly, otherwise, they will start to cook and you will end up with a rubbery custard. This custard can also end up runny if you don't cook the eggs enough after returning to the stove top. If you have a candy thermometer, bring your mixture to 170 degrees. If not, make sure the mixture coats the back of a wooden spoon so that if you drag a fingertip through the mixture the spoon retains a clean line for several seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Wonderful simple recipe! The only changes I made were to use Semi-sweet chocolate and skim milk. Garnished with whipped cream and sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Great recipe and so delicious. I made this with 1 cup 2% milk, and 1 cup fat free half & half, used the 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate but did add an additional 1-2 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips to make it a bit more chcolatey. It was a total hit at the party I took it to with several asking for the recipe. Thanks so much Debbie, I will be making this for years to come! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This pie was exceptional!! The only changes I made were instead of adding 2 cups of milk, I used 1 cup of milk and 1 cup of heavy cream. I also used a "heaping" 1/3 c of flour as well. Next time I will probably cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup as it was very rich. I made some fresh whipping cream and got rave reviews from my family. Will add this to my favorites for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States