Chocolate Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Very good recipe...made it for Christmas last year, everybody enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bakelock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Recipe does need a little salt. This pie was too dense for us; prefer a nice creamy, silky pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This recipe turned out great. I used 1/3 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the squares. Otherwise, used exact ingredients. I made it all in the microwave. Easy, just watch and stir often. No worry of burning. It thickens quick, but just stir often and it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was delicious as far as taste goes but just didn't set up well. I cooked it for a long time to try to get it to "bubble". It kept getting thicker and thicker and was afraid that it would burn. Saw where another reviewer said to cook it longer after adding the yolks or it would be runny. I will try it again to see what happens. Ended up making meringue, baked on parchment paper to add to top of pie since one reviewer said her pie was runny after putting it in the oven with meringue. This worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
The filling was fine when put into the pie shell, but I added a meringue and baked it for an additional 12 minutes. Big mistake! After cooling on wire rack for an hour, and 4 hours in the frige, pie became runny. Will try again without meringue and hope for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Hensley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rogersville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
my family knows chocolate, and they gobbled it right up. .i've been making chocolate pies for over 20 yrs and this is a simple recipe to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Made this exactly according to recipe. Turned out excellent and very easy for a novice cook such as myself. Only disappointing thing was the frozen store bought pie crust. Next time I'll try making my own crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This particular recipe was pretty easy to use and very tasty. I added a couple tablespoons of very strong (day old) coffee while cooking. Topped with whipped cream w/almond extract. .....To the reviewer who complained that this was simply chocolate pudding on a pie crust: Yes, that's basically what a chocolate cream pie is. Beautiful simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Absolutely delicious. This was perfect, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This came out great. I substituted the chocolate with 1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips, 2 (instead of 1) teaspoons of vanilla, and grahamcracker crust. I ate it right out of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States