Chocolate Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I suggest using a graham cracker crust and use the egg white for mirangue (sp sorry)...very good. Mirangue is simple, beat whites til foamy then add, slowley 6 tbs of sugar until stiff. Put on top of pie and back (in pre heated 350 oven until mirangue is brown)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
So delicious and easy to make. This is the second one I've made this week because the first one that I made for Christmas day was gone before I had any! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Don't change a thing. Follow this recipe to the letter. This pie is the BEST ccp I've ever made and tasted. Most people I serve this to say, "Oh, I thought chocolate cream pie was made with instant pudding." Instant pudding? YUCK! This pie is a labor of love and I am so happy to have found it. It is rich and creamy and best served the next day. I also put a sheet of plastic wrap over the hot pie to prevent "skin" on the top. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe. I've used it about six times. The only change I make it to actually use Semi-sweet chocolate chips (Preferably Ghirardelli chocolate chips!!) instead of unsweetened chocolate. This adds a creamier lighter taste to the pie so that it's not SOOO rich like with the unsweetened chocolate. Overall though, it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Better than my grandmothers, in a different way. It's very runny, I'd cut the liquid a little or possibly add a thickener like flour or corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Yum!!! I made this for a Thanksgiving feast and fortunately everyone was too full to eat most of it, so I took the nearly whole pie back home and have been enjoying it ever since. I made this with the Basic Flakey Pie Crust and it's delicious. Really easy to make, just keep stirring!!! My arm was killing me from stirring but it was worth it. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This pie is perfect - it's like chocolate mousse in a pie shell. It receives rave reviews from my family at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made this pie twice. The first time exactly as the recipe was written. It was good but didn't set up quite as well as I wanted. Still very good. The second time I made it, I used Ghiradelli Semi-Sweet chocolate and after adding all ingredients together, instead of cooking only 90 seconds, I cooked for 3 minutes. When I turned the burner off, I let the mixture "rest" for an additional 2 minutes. When I poured into the pie shell all it had to do was cool completely in the fridge. Add the whipped topping and shavings of the same chocolate and it was great. There wasn't any left. Everyone loved this recipe. Will definitely make this again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momofmy4crazykids
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
My family loved this, my son wants to have this every night. I used semi-sweet choc, chips cause that's what I had. It's a keeper thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Very dark and rich pie. It was good, but it was not as creamy as I expected. If you have a chocolate craving this will work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States