Chocolate Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made this pie twice. The first time exactly as the recipe was written. It was good but didn't set up quite as well as I wanted. Still very good. The second time I made it, I used Ghiradelli Semi-Sweet chocolate and after adding all ingredients together, instead of cooking only 90 seconds, I cooked for 3 minutes. When I turned the burner off, I let the mixture "rest" for an additional 2 minutes. When I poured into the pie shell all it had to do was cool completely in the fridge. Add the whipped topping and shavings of the same chocolate and it was great. There wasn't any left. Everyone loved this recipe. Will definitely make this again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momofmy4crazykids
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
My family loved this, my son wants to have this every night. I used semi-sweet choc, chips cause that's what I had. It's a keeper thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Very dark and rich pie. It was good, but it was not as creamy as I expected. If you have a chocolate craving this will work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I made a 5 egg white merengue to go on top. Hubby said the pie was too chocolatey for him. I thought it was about perfect--even better after being refrigerated for awhile. It cut well, not too runny at all. Better than those pies made with cornstarch and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Definitely not the best cream pie I have ever made. For the end result, it would be much easier to just make an instant pudding pie. I was expecting something that tasted like it was homemade, and the extra effort wasn't worth it for a run of the mill pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKRUDERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
The taste was pretty good but it was very runny. I followed this recipe exactly and have no idea where I went wrong. I even made it two days before I was serving it and it never set. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Well, I must confess I am the world's WORST baker. Seriously, even if I am cooking ready made cookie dough or a cake from the box, somehow I find a way to mess it up. That said, I was so delighted to find dessert recipe that turned out great, no matter how I butchered it. I did add an extra square of chocolate. I mean, what's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made the pie today. Instead of using unsweetened chocolate, I used 2 ozs of semi-sweet chocolate morsels and I used the egg whites for meringue. My husband said it was the best pie that I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I made this for my uncle, I added an extra ounce of chocolate like someone suggested, and my uncle said it was the best pie he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
My family did like this pie but it was more like a pudding than a creamy pie. I was not overly happy with it but if you like a pudding pie then you'll like this one. One alteration I did make was to change one cup of milk to one cup of half'n half. Will not make again... the search continues :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States