Chocolate Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This was a very good pie. However, this is a very sweet, dark chocoate pie. Not a creamy, milk chocolate flavor. I like the milk chocolate flavor better, as do most people I know. This is great if you are a dark, bitter-sweet chocolate lover. I probably won't make this again for myself or my husband (will just use pie filling for a creamier chocolate). However, my mother-in-law loved it. She likes the dark chocoate and said it tasted just like her mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This recipe was very good. I added an extra 1 oz square of chocolate and 2 tablespoons of almond extract and it came out heavenly. I think next time I'll add 1/2 cream and 1/2 milk to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
This was wonderful-I served it to some friends who are chocolate lovers who declared it was the best pie they had ever eaten. I used a chocolate cookie crust and topped it with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Delicious!! Very creamy and chocolatey. Family loved this pie. I had found another recipe that called for 8 oz. of chopped bittersweet chocolate...but hesitated as this recipe called for only 2 oz. of unsweetened. Glad I followed this recipe...the 2 oz. was the perfect amount of chocolate...could only imagine what it would be like with 8!! The custard thickened up with no problem...chilled in a baked pie shell and topped with whipped cream and shaved hershey kisses (all I had )..will make this again! Thanks for a fabulous pie Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Absolutely delicious pie!! I have made it many times and want to thank you for sharing the recipe. Tastes just like the old fashioned ones my Mom-in-Law made. Unfortunately, Mom never wrote much down, so I am stuck with lots of ingredient lists and not many instructions! Like anything else the quality of the ingredients determines the end results. I have made this pie with Ghiardelli Dark Bars, Valhrona and Lindt 83% Dark and Scharffenburger. Both individually and in varying amounts of each mixed. All with excellent results. They cost a bit more, but the results are worth it. I sometimes cut down on the sugar just a smidgen-1 tablespoon-- depending on what kind of chocolate I am using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Best Chocolate Pie I've had! It has been a hit with friends and family. The best part is that it is really easy to make for those "inexperienced pie makers".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
A wonderful pie recipe that all of my friends and family enjoyed very much! Use a graham cracker crust just to top off that delicious dessert flavor. Pile high with Reddi-Whip for a straight-from-the-bakery look. No one believed that I made this pie myself; they accused me of ordering it from a gourmet restaurant. It's THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I was disappointed in this pie. Mine came out too bitter, and had the taste and texture of fudge, not a cream pie. Sorry, but will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Added ~1/4 tsp salt. Delicious. I made it in the microwave w/no problems. This is a dense chocolate - I suppose if you wanted a lighter pie you could fold stiffly whipped cream w/some gelatine into the chocolate before pouring into the crust, but I like the whipped cream on top. Fudge-y chocolate, crisp crust, and the whipped cream...mmmmm! I've made it 2x already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Perfect chocolate custard pie recipe. I suspect that those reviewers who had texture issues had trouble with bringing the custard together. You must temper the eggs by slowly adding hot chocolate mixture while beating rapidly, otherwise, they will start to cook and you will end up with a rubbery custard. This custard can also end up runny if you don't cook the eggs enough after returning to the stove top. If you have a candy thermometer, bring your mixture to 170 degrees. If not, make sure the mixture coats the back of a wooden spoon so that if you drag a fingertip through the mixture the spoon retains a clean line for several seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States